We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Kenya” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Market

The Village Market
9/418 Limuru Road | 100, Nairobi, Kenya (Highridge)
+254 712 248890
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Shopping in Nairobi
Type: Flea/ Street Markets, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: East Africa's largest entertainment and shopping destination. Description: The Village Market is East Africa's largest Shopping, Recreation and Entertainment destination. The complex is home to over 150 outlets covering 210,000 square feet of retail space, 20,000 square feet of office space in addition to a host of recreation facilities. The mall essentially provides residents of the area with high-end shopping and entertainment, satisfying a niche that was not previously explored. As the name suggests, the complex embodies the spirit of the African market in an open-air setting. To live up to its African theme, are waterfalls, rivers and over 2000 exotic plants and gardens, giving this magnificent shopping centre an edge over other shopping malls. Since its inception 14 years ago, The Village Market has revolutionized shopping while redefining recreation and entertainment. Over the years, the centre has successfully been able to blend modernity and culture to provide an aura of modern shopping.This innovation has not gone unnoticed. Due to its remarkable architectural design, The Village Market has earned numerous accolades including the coveted International Council of Shopping Centres' Design Award.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Out of Kenya”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Village Market has a reputation of being the big bang and scam for the UN expatriates working and living in the vicinity of that shopping center. The prices in the food outlets and shops do not reflect the real purchasing power of the Kenyan people. It is for foreigners only. The Kenyan works in that glamorous shopping mall are unfriendly and out for a quick buck. They are treating customers like aliens and trying to cheat when possible. the food quality is poor and overpriced (the owners think about the salaries of the expats). The security is below the average in Kenya and not really giving a feeling to be safe or not. It is a joke, only. Be careful with your belongings and do not trust people who approach you for a pen, light or an information. In the evening the place seems to become a brothel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    30
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Perfect, authentic Kenyan market. Enjoyed shopping for traditional wares in local setting. Purchases soccer jerseys, wooden bowls and spoons, beaded jewelry, Nativity scenes, etc. My family much preferred this market to touristy souvenir shops.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“food court”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

the food court is quite different from most malls,due to the outside sort of seating,selling of alcohol and most importantly the prices(its quite pricy for a mall). after a few improvements and expansion of the food court area, on the weekends as far as i know, there is a live band and its quite good. some of the vendors are good i.e prime cuts, the ice cream parlor and the frozen yoghurt place and some vendors are just horrible. reason for my review is because of the Orchid, they do Persian type of cuisine. In all my years at the village market i have never received such treatment as i did on Friday evening(26/07/2013)customer service is 0!!!never again will i eat there again..
all in all, the village market remains my go to weekend spot to relax.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Loved this place. Good variety of stores. Got some art, groceries, and clothes for my family. Excellent food court. A bit upscale.

Within walking distance from the UN.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One Stop for Everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Liked the fact that this "mall" is quite unlike any I have encountered in North America. Nice mix of indoor and outdoor areas. Many options for eating and a remarkably good variety of shops, many of which specialize in genuine Kenyan arts and crafts. And it has a Nakomat - excellent for staples and sundries. Needed bubble wrap and packing tape before flying home. As we were staying at Tribe, I found what I needed at Nakomat in five minutes. Perfect for last minute gifts. And make a point of checking out Sand Storm for excellent leather goods

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Market also viewed

 

Been to The Village Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.