We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seafood dinner was exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandhari Restaurant

Mandhari Restaurant
Nyerere Road and Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
254 20 282 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Seafood dinner was exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I cannot recall ever having had such a wonderful seafood experience on all my worldly travels. All freshly prepared and superbly presented. Sincere thanks to Executive Chef Roy and his very capable team for making the dinner such a memorable occasion, and to Joyce and Maria (and not forgetting Louis!!) for the great company.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    23
    13
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Luberon, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect service but disappointing cuisine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is a luxury French style restaurant within the best hotel in town, the Serena hotel.

The setting is very nice and very comfortable and the service as in the rest of the hotel (except for the cafe Maghreb) is absolutely perfect.

So why did I put 3 stars only? Because of wine and food! Isn't that the most important than the restaurant?!

And food here is disappointing, not bad and even very well presented but the tastes are not there. I had both lunch and dinner and came to the same conclusion. This restaurant's is advised by a French chef from Provence I happen to know Emile Loubet: I wouldn't say he's the best choice as an adviser or a consultant. First there are many better chefs in France and second if Mr Loubet is certainly a good cook he must not spend very much time in the kitchen here...

As for the wine list, its close from being a bloody shame: mistakes, wrong comments, lousy choices. I don't know who picked wines but certainly no expert!

The setting is so nice and the service so great that it is a true pity that more efforts are not made on the gastronomical side.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great service than I ever expected! Food was great too. Really awesome service from the waiters. I really enjoyed the fact that I mentioned it was a birthday dinner and they baked a cake for us and presented it with a song by the pianist. It was fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engare Nairobi, Tanzania
1 review
“as a Japanese, Very very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

nothing attractive. We, japanese living in Nairobi, cook far better meal at home.
I had to dine there two consecutive nights.After the first night disappoint Even interviewed the chef after the first night which took us 4hours to finish the course.
He was unhappy because he couldn't perform as he hoped. The staff cook at serena were not capable to assist and the chef struggled to serve the numbers of the guest
Nothing proper. fish was smelly, presentation,not sensitive at all,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“japanese evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

An astonishing experience of Japanese cuisine by executive chef Tomikawa Kaiseki.
Each dish on the tantalizing nine course menu was immaculately presented leaving the dinner relishing for the next item on the menu. Both the taste and presentation showed the chef's
passion for perfecting Japanese cuisine in such an artistic manner. Thank you chef Tomikawa
Kaiseki for your delicious creations for the vegetarian dinners also. The whole evening just too long. We hope to have the privilege to host you again in Nairobi very soon.
The Shah's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandhari Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mandhari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandhari Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.