We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandhari Restaurant

Mandhari Restaurant
Nyerere Road and Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
254 20 282 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Great service than I ever expected! Food was great too. Really awesome service from the waiters. I really enjoyed the fact that I mentioned it was a birthday dinner and they baked a cake for us and presented it with a song by the pianist. It was fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    20
    12
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Engare Nairobi, Tanzania
1 review
“as a Japanese, Very very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

nothing attractive. We, japanese living in Nairobi, cook far better meal at home.
I had to dine there two consecutive nights.After the first night disappoint Even interviewed the chef after the first night which took us 4hours to finish the course.
He was unhappy because he couldn't perform as he hoped. The staff cook at serena were not capable to assist and the chef struggled to serve the numbers of the guest
Nothing proper. fish was smelly, presentation,not sensitive at all,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“japanese evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

An astonishing experience of Japanese cuisine by executive chef Tomikawa Kaiseki.
Each dish on the tantalizing nine course menu was immaculately presented leaving the dinner relishing for the next item on the menu. Both the taste and presentation showed the chef's
passion for perfecting Japanese cuisine in such an artistic manner. Thank you chef Tomikawa
Kaiseki for your delicious creations for the vegetarian dinners also. The whole evening just too long. We hope to have the privilege to host you again in Nairobi very soon.
The Shah's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top class, far better than I ever could have imagined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I really enjoyed this restaurant this visit. I ate here twice in the past week and on both occasions enjoyed greats service, fine food, excellent wine and to my great surprise world class cheeses ...you must try these...Brie, Camembert, blue cheeses etc...just top class. I do think they need to learn how to raise fine meats locally, but the rest was superb...just fantastic - highly recommended and I am a fussy eater.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best fine dining in nairobi so far !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great unparallelled service and ambiance. Expect the usual great standards that Serena hotels has come to be associated with . Kudos for consistency over the years .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandhari Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mandhari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandhari Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.