We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class, far better than I ever could have imagined” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandhari Restaurant

Mandhari Restaurant
Nyerere Road and Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
254 20 282 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 360 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Top class, far better than I ever could have imagined”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I really enjoyed this restaurant this visit. I ate here twice in the past week and on both occasions enjoyed greats service, fine food, excellent wine and to my great surprise world class cheeses ...you must try these...Brie, Camembert, blue cheeses etc...just top class. I do think they need to learn how to raise fine meats locally, but the rest was superb...just fantastic - highly recommended and I am a fussy eater.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    13
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best fine dining in nairobi so far !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great unparallelled service and ambiance. Expect the usual great standards that Serena hotels has come to be associated with . Kudos for consistency over the years .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good menu, great staff but unimaginative, flavourless food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The menu is extensive and the staff are friendly, courteous and professional. In that respect, Mandhari cannot be faulted. In terms of the food, the presentation is superb and the chef friendly and willing to accommodate specialised dietary needs. However, whoever is responsible for the recruitment and subsequent training of the kitchen staff should really update their knowledge base. Dishes are created seemingly without recourse to seasoning of any kind and all taste the same - flavourless. It's normal to use herbs and spices to bring out the best flavour of a dish but the African chefs at Mandhari cook food in the African style - with no creativity. If I wanted something tasting like ugali and sukuma wiki, I'd order ugali and sukuma wiki. Sadly, what could have been a delicious Red Snapper dish tasted of oil and cardboard, because no seasoning was used. For the extortionate prices Mandhari charges, better is expected. Suggest the head of training speaks to chefs at restaurants like the Delamere Terrace, Thai Chi and Bhandini for advice on how to cook properly. I can do better at home in my own kitchen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was craving Indian food and we tried the mutton and prawn curries. We probably picked the wrong ones because the gravy/sauce seemed to be the same but it was tasty and spicy. I like that they give you naan (bread) and rice with the dish

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Eggs and waffles made to order. Lovely lattes and all of the fresh fruit, yogurt, lox and breads that you could want!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandhari Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mandhari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandhari Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.