We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fine dining in nairobi so far !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandhari Restaurant

Mandhari Restaurant
Nyerere Road and Kenyatta Avenue, Nairobi, Kenya
254 20 282 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 314 restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
nairobi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best fine dining in nairobi so far !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great unparallelled service and ambiance. Expect the usual great standards that Serena hotels has come to be associated with . Kudos for consistency over the years .

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    20
    12
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good menu, great staff but unimaginative, flavourless food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The menu is extensive and the staff are friendly, courteous and professional. In that respect, Mandhari cannot be faulted. In terms of the food, the presentation is superb and the chef friendly and willing to accommodate specialised dietary needs. However, whoever is responsible for the recruitment and subsequent training of the kitchen staff should really update their knowledge base. Dishes are created seemingly without recourse to seasoning of any kind and all taste the same - flavourless. It's normal to use herbs and spices to bring out the best flavour of a dish but the African chefs at Mandhari cook food in the African style - with no creativity. If I wanted something tasting like ugali and sukuma wiki, I'd order ugali and sukuma wiki. Sadly, what could have been a delicious Red Snapper dish tasted of oil and cardboard, because no seasoning was used. For the extortionate prices Mandhari charges, better is expected. Suggest the head of training speaks to chefs at restaurants like the Delamere Terrace, Thai Chi and Bhandini for advice on how to cook properly. I can do better at home in my own kitchen.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I was craving Indian food and we tried the mutton and prawn curries. We probably picked the wrong ones because the gravy/sauce seemed to be the same but it was tasty and spicy. I like that they give you naan (bread) and rice with the dish

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful breakfast buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Eggs and waffles made to order. Lovely lattes and all of the fresh fruit, yogurt, lox and breads that you could want!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“fine dining at Serena”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Good food and excellent service, but a bit stiff atmosphere. I prefered to eat downstairs in the regular restaurant.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mandhari Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mandhari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandhari Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.