We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Market

Village Market
Limuru Rd, Nairobi, Kenya (Highridge)
522488
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 354 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: Highridge
Nairobi
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing sunday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Every Sunday the market comes to life, jut go, get a seat the central food court and enjoy the beer over countless cuisines and live music. I just recently came to know that they haev a happy hour every friday night so decided to attend, frankly found it to be the best place in Nairobi to have a beer with friends around. The ambience was great, definitely not a place for young college people but would recommend it to all working kinda people

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    73
    37
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Village Market" African Dishes Stall=Food Poisoning!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

In Nairobi, I ate at the African food stall in the food court a few weeks ago in the village market, the chicken served with the rice was competely RAW! Had the taste of blood in my mouth, then looked down to see blood on the chicken-and that after only ONE BITE! I showed the waiter who took the plate away and never returned! Went to the counter and the lady there said there was nothing they could do about it, I either eat it, or make my peace and leave! I am a Chef and Lecturer of Gastronomy for goodness sake! Well, told her we would meet on the net - so here I am! BEWARE all about the cuisine found at this disgustingly annoying joint! Sorry about your rep, V.M!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experince”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A Must if you are visiting Nairobi. Good eating places very cosmopolitan.
You have not completed Nairobi tour without going to the village MARKET.
Its based in the diplomatic side of town

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“All-Purpose Mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What do you feel like doing today? Swimming, water slides, miniature golf, bowling, pool, movies, eating, shopping, banking, or just strolling? Well, Village Market has it all and does it all. It's a nice place to go any time of the week. I prefer the weekdays because it is less crowded. It definitely is a popular joint as it accommodates a diverse range of food vendors and restaurants. The outdoor set-up of its food court is quite unique and refreshing especially if it's a nice day. You need to experience it as I can barely do justice - seeing is believing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good shopping centre + good food court”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Go for the food court, has everything from curry, grilled steaks to bratwurst, you order and it is brought to your table...Also has a 'Masai' market on Fridays...every fake trinket/curio you can think of but they will fool the folks back home, so an ideal one-stop place before you fly out.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Market also viewed

 

Been to Village Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.