We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yaya one of my favs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yaya Centre

Yaya Centre
Argwings Khodek Road, Nairobi 00508, Kenya
+254 20 2713360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 383 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nairobi
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yaya one of my favs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I like the security, not just the bag checks at the entrances but generally there seems to be security patrolling all the floors which is good coz of the security threats we are experiencing in nairobi and Kenya in general. I LOVE the variety of shops and cafes and restaurants and their service is ok.
The place is clean with clean loos(ladies love clean loos)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The food court is heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

After eating the worst food of my life for several weeks in rural Kenya, this place is a godsend. Two days prior to eating at the Yaya Center I ate dinner at Havana and another dinner at Carnivore. The food in the food court at Yaya is better than both of those. I was starving so I ordered Chinese food and Indian food. Both were fantastic. The egg rolls were the best I've ever had. I think I had a couple meat dishes, some rice and naan. Delcious! If I go back to Nairobi I want to eat here everyday.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sundays, an adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you want to get some great African art, go on Sunday afternoons when they have an open market in the parking lot. But, make sure you are well rested as it is quite an adventure as everyone wants to sell you something. This is not for the timid. You must know how to bargain and walk away if necessary.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FORM 4 COMMERCE TRIP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

i was in form form commerce class and our teacher suggested we go and pay a visit to be able to differentiate between supermarkets, hypermarkets and whole sale shops from retail shops. he explained so many things in that when we went there i was able to love the subject again and again. this is a better place for educational tours. we visited it in a day together with the sarit centre and the village market.

I loved the place.

Helpful?
Thank Glaciela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Shopping Mall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Its basically an average shopping mall. There are better ones such as Junction which is not too far from Yaya Centre. The food court here is not very good at all.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank anoop l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaya Centre also viewed

 

Been to Yaya Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing