We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good atmosphere, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria

cnr Wabera & Kaunda Sts, city centre, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
+254 20 2240205
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 381 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Nairobi Central Business District
Description: Welcome to Trattoria, the oldest family-run restaurant in Nairobi. Established in 1981, Trattoria is the product of a family dream- to share it's culinary traditions with Kenyans. Over the Years Mamma Ruffi has created Trattoria's recipes inspired from her hometown. Be it Breakfast, lunch, dinner or simply just a glass of wine, this corner of Italy in the heart of Nairobi is the place to be!
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I chose to eat here instead of at the hotel, due to the look and the reviews. We sat upstairs on the balcony. Service was friendly and efficient. The house wine ( carafe was fine and fairly priced). We shared a pizza bread starter and both had pasta dishes. My wife's pasta was initially a little too spicy ( chilly) but it was quickly whisked away and returned completely redone ( toned down) with a smile and an apology. The dishes are quite large and tasty, I was unable to finish mine. We relaxed afterwards of the outside couch with some more drinks. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank kelvincraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
287 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Average meal, nice to sit out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This Italian restaurant is placed in the very central part of the town. We were sitting outside and loved the scene, it is the part called Luna Lounge and it is the balcony. The service was a bit slow and the food was acceptable, but nothing special. However, they had the asparagus, which was missing in some other Nairobi restaurants.Salad bar available. The prices are a bit high and we ended up with the bill with some items we did not order, but it was corrected in the end... Since this was just a lunch, we did not experience music. Toilets decent. The place is spacious, the stairs leading to the upper floor are a bit steep. http://www.trattoria.online.co.ke/

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You can't survive on your reputation if you can't cook a pizza...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been here many times before, always for lunch and always had good (if a little over-priced) food. Maybe it was the influence of the Italian owner who strolls along the tables that was missing tonight.

The atmosphere was tranquil and the 1st floor balcony I'd always a nice lift from the haraka of Nairobi. This place had been around for a long time and probably won't go away soon, BUT the reviews are clear... This place one WAS great, but now is just over priced.

My order was simple. Just a pizza of the menu and a request for some hot oil our diced hot peppers and a beer. The beer was cold, which was good. The test was bad. The dough to the pizza was very obviously not cooked. Chewy in the way that bubble gum is chewy. I informed the waiter at the same time I reminded him to bring the hot oil. He apologized for the uncooked pizza but still forgot the hot oil. I was also charged full, bloated price.

I don't need to come back , there are plenty of new more interesting pizza places in Nairobi. Perhaps the pastas are better, but if you can't do pizza, what can you do?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Thank NomadDomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great sweets and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We did not eat any proper food in Trattoria but returned there for more cakes. They are freat. Try the chocolate mezzoluna.

Visited July 2013
Thank Amadej L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food is not bad, good wine, but the quality price rate is bad. Too expensive for the quality that they offer. The service was right and enjoyed the dinner in the balcony which was quite and relaxed (note: it was a Sunday night with few people).

Visited April 2013
Thank Pedro Ezequiel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria also viewed


Been to Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing