We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good atmosphere, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria

Trattoria
cnr Wabera & Kaunda Sts, city centre, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
340855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Nairobi Central Business District
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I chose to eat here instead of at the hotel, due to the look and the reviews. We sat upstairs on the balcony. Service was friendly and efficient. The house wine ( carafe was fine and fairly priced). We shared a pizza bread starter and both had pasta dishes. My wife's pasta was initially a little too spicy ( chilly) but it was quickly whisked away and returned completely redone ( toned down) with a smile and an apology. The dishes are quite large and tasty, I was unable to finish mine. We relaxed afterwards of the outside couch with some more drinks. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    32
    58
    29
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average meal, nice to sit out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This Italian restaurant is placed in the very central part of the town. We were sitting outside and loved the scene, it is the part called Luna Lounge and it is the balcony. The service was a bit slow and the food was acceptable, but nothing special. However, they had the asparagus, which was missing in some other Nairobi restaurants.Salad bar available. The prices are a bit high and we ended up with the bill with some items we did not order, but it was corrected in the end... Since this was just a lunch, we did not experience music. Toilets decent. The place is spacious, the stairs leading to the upper floor are a bit steep. http://www.trattoria.online.co.ke/

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“You can't survive on your reputation if you can't cook a pizza...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

I've been here many times before, always for lunch and always had good (if a little over-priced) food. Maybe it was the influence of the Italian owner who strolls along the tables that was missing tonight.

The atmosphere was tranquil and the 1st floor balcony I'd always a nice lift from the haraka of Nairobi. This place had been around for a long time and probably won't go away soon, BUT the reviews are clear... This place one WAS great, but now is just over priced.

My order was simple. Just a pizza of the menu and a request for some hot oil our diced hot peppers and a beer. The beer was cold, which was good. The test was bad. The dough to the pizza was very obviously not cooked. Chewy in the way that bubble gum is chewy. I informed the waiter at the same time I reminded him to bring the hot oil. He apologized for the uncooked pizza but still forgot the hot oil. I was also charged full, bloated price.

I don't need to come back , there are plenty of new more interesting pizza places in Nairobi. Perhaps the pastas are better, but if you can't do pizza, what can you do?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great sweets and coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We did not eat any proper food in Trattoria but returned there for more cakes. They are freat. Try the chocolate mezzoluna.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaragoza, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The food is not bad, good wine, but the quality price rate is bad. Too expensive for the quality that they offer. The service was right and enjoyed the dinner in the balcony which was quite and relaxed (note: it was a Sunday night with few people).

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.