We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coronation Chicken” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorn Tree Cafe

Thorn Tree Cafe
New Stanley Hotel, Kimathi St, city centre | Nairobi Central, Sarova Stanley, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 23 33283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Coronation Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

In the 70s I had a coronation chicken served in half a pineapple, it was fabulous, it was a meeting place for travellers

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Evaristontour,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

Indeed as you have pointed our; the Thorn Tree Café is an establish icon in Nairobi, drenched in rich history from the days it was a tree, with a few tables around , where guests came to have a coffee and railway workers pin their messages on the tree in the very early 1900’s to the visit of renowned Presidents and Authors such as Presidents – Roosevelt and Barak Obama and Authors Ernest Hemingway, Elspeth Huxley.

We aim to maintain this rich heritage and reflect it in our Meals, service and ambiance.

Please do visit us soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    31
    38
    9
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very good service and food. Lively atmosphere. Its a local town meeting spot, great for people watching. Great, breakfast with huge selection and cooked to order eggs. Nice to have a coffee there too.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Belgian Traveller772,

Many thanks for dining and sharing your experience, through Trip Advisor, on your recent experience at The Thorn Tree Café.
We are truly proud to receive your very complimentary review, and appreciate your comments on our meals and service.

Looking forward to hosting you soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“a nice cafe for simple, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife stayed at the sarova stanley a few nights before our safari and ate here many times and enjoyed it. They have good food for dinner, really good pizza and the breakfast buffet is very good too. The staff here is so nice and helpful and it is a nice, casual place to hang out and eat, drink and relax a while. The food prices area very reasonable and the breakfast buffet is included with your room and has many choices and the coffee here is excellent. The service staff while we were in africa were just great and very pleasant , I recommend having a meal during your stay here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Brentsf,

It was our pleasure hosting you at the Sarova Stanley, and we thank you for dining and reviewing The Thorn Tree Café.
We continue to focus on providing our guests with a memorable dining experiance and am very glad that you appreciated the same.
Many thanks for recognising friendliness of the staff; your kind words will be shared with the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kenya.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“THE Thorn Tree Cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Enjoyed several meals here including the talapia fresh from Lake Victoria and the Prawn Salad...so delicious and served perfectly. What I really liked, though was the history of the Cafe, and the Stanley Hotel's efforts to keep an acacia tree growing on the same spot as the original, and the notice board that still carries messages from other travelers!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear CanadaFran4Kenya,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Sarova Stanley and indeed dining and reviewing our Legendary Thorn Tree café.
The Tilapia continues to be one of our most popular dishes time and time again, and am truly pleased that you enjoyed many meals here.

We are very proud of our histroy ; and make increased efforts in maintain the heritage feel and ambiance of our establishment – including the oldest café in Nairobi, the Thorn Tree Café.

We look forward to your return, and posting another message on our Thorn Tree board.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Respite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was a pleasure to enjoy lunch at the Thorn Tree with a friend. The service was very friendly but a little slow. (This is Kenya, right?) Good selection of meals and desserts. The desserts are visible in a glass case. If you order a piece of cake, you might want to request they cut it from the inside. One side of mine was somewhat dry. I would go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear King238,

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you at the Thorn Tree Café, thank you for taking the time to review our services.

I would like to thank you for your candid feedback on the service and the cake; indeed your comments are very valuable to us to enable us to continuously improve on our services.

Your comments on menu choice and variety have been well received.

We certainly look forward to having you back again,

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorn Tree Cafe also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya

Been to Thorn Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorn Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.