We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice cafe for simple, good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thorn Tree Cafe

Thorn Tree Cafe
New Stanley Hotel, Kimathi St, city centre | Nairobi Central, Sarova Stanley, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 23 33283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 324 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
San Mateo, California
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“a nice cafe for simple, good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife stayed at the sarova stanley a few nights before our safari and ate here many times and enjoyed it. They have good food for dinner, really good pizza and the breakfast buffet is very good too. The staff here is so nice and helpful and it is a nice, casual place to hang out and eat, drink and relax a while. The food prices area very reasonable and the breakfast buffet is included with your room and has many choices and the coffee here is excellent. The service staff while we were in africa were just great and very pleasant , I recommend having a meal during your stay here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear Brentsf,

It was our pleasure hosting you at the Sarova Stanley, and we thank you for dining and reviewing The Thorn Tree Café.
We continue to focus on providing our guests with a memorable dining experiance and am very glad that you appreciated the same.
Many thanks for recognising friendliness of the staff; your kind words will be shared with the rest of the team.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Kenya.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    41
    9
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“THE Thorn Tree Cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Enjoyed several meals here including the talapia fresh from Lake Victoria and the Prawn Salad...so delicious and served perfectly. What I really liked, though was the history of the Cafe, and the Stanley Hotel's efforts to keep an acacia tree growing on the same spot as the original, and the notice board that still carries messages from other travelers!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear CanadaFran4Kenya,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Sarova Stanley and indeed dining and reviewing our Legendary Thorn Tree café.
The Tilapia continues to be one of our most popular dishes time and time again, and am truly pleased that you enjoyed many meals here.

We are very proud of our histroy ; and make increased efforts in maintain the heritage feel and ambiance of our establishment – including the oldest café in Nairobi, the Thorn Tree Café.

We look forward to your return, and posting another message on our Thorn Tree board.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Respite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was a pleasure to enjoy lunch at the Thorn Tree with a friend. The service was very friendly but a little slow. (This is Kenya, right?) Good selection of meals and desserts. The desserts are visible in a glass case. If you order a piece of cake, you might want to request they cut it from the inside. One side of mine was somewhat dry. I would go back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear King238,

It was indeed a pleasure hosting you at the Thorn Tree Café, thank you for taking the time to review our services.

I would like to thank you for your candid feedback on the service and the cake; indeed your comments are very valuable to us to enable us to continuously improve on our services.

Your comments on menu choice and variety have been well received.

We certainly look forward to having you back again,

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Informal setting for business meetings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Food choice is excellent, try the roast for breakfast unusual, but supremely tender. There's a great outdoor section for some fresh air after a night in air conditioning. You get some street noise, but nothing too loud. Great coffee

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear mjc992,

I would like to thank you for staying at the Sarova Stanly and dining in a variety of our outlet and reviewing their services.

Indeed, we believe that breakfast is one of the most important offerings of our hotel, and we provide a large selection to suit our very cosmopolitan clientele; to meet and suit all different tastes. Furthermore, thank you for appreciating our fresh Kenyan coffee.

We look forward to having you stay with us soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great variety of food, done well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Whether you are having breakfast or lunch this 24hour restuarant gives you plenty of variety and the food is very tasty. I also enjoyed the live entertainment that was provided in the evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Whatilikedaboutu,

Many thanks for visiting our Thorn Tree restaurant and reviewing its services. As you rightly point out Thorn Tree is one of the very few 24 – hour dining establishments within Nairobi - no matter the time of the day or night our doors remain open.

It is great to note that you were pleased with the menu offerings in terms of taste and variety.

Ambiance is also a key attribute to any dining experience, hence, I am glad you enjoyed the melodies provided by our in-house band.

Warm Regards,

David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorn Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Thorn Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorn Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.