We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informal setting for business meetings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thorn Tree Cafe

Thorn Tree Cafe
New Stanley Hotel, Kimathi St, city centre | Nairobi Central, Sarova Stanley, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 23 33283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Informal setting for business meetings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Food choice is excellent, try the roast for breakfast unusual, but supremely tender. There's a great outdoor section for some fresh air after a night in air conditioning. You get some street noise, but nothing too loud. Great coffee

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear mjc992,

I would like to thank you for staying at the Sarova Stanly and dining in a variety of our outlet and reviewing their services.

Indeed, we believe that breakfast is one of the most important offerings of our hotel, and we provide a large selection to suit our very cosmopolitan clientele; to meet and suit all different tastes. Furthermore, thank you for appreciating our fresh Kenyan coffee.

We look forward to having you stay with us soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    31
    38
    9
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great variety of food, done well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Whether you are having breakfast or lunch this 24hour restuarant gives you plenty of variety and the food is very tasty. I also enjoyed the live entertainment that was provided in the evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Whatilikedaboutu,

Many thanks for visiting our Thorn Tree restaurant and reviewing its services. As you rightly point out Thorn Tree is one of the very few 24 – hour dining establishments within Nairobi - no matter the time of the day or night our doors remain open.

It is great to note that you were pleased with the menu offerings in terms of taste and variety.

Ambiance is also a key attribute to any dining experience, hence, I am glad you enjoyed the melodies provided by our in-house band.

Warm Regards,

David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lots to choose from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This cafe has a great breakfast buffet including Kenyan cuisine with many choices to choose from. Lunch and dinner offer a great menu as well. The staff is extremely friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Kimstreep,

Thank you for choosing to dine with us at the Thorn Tree Café and taking the time to post your review.
Your highlighting the variety and quality of all our meals from the breakfast buffet, through to the lunch and dinner offerings is highly appreciated as is mentioning the extremely friendly staff. All your comments have been shared with the team, and who are all grateful for your comments.
We hope to have you visit us soon again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western North Carolina
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect Atmosphere of Colonial Kenya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The entire Stanley Hotel is like stepping back in time. The lobby is elegant and refined as it must have been over 100 years ago. We had our safari farewell dinner here in the cafe and it was quite relaxing. The bar area is comfortable and surprisingly quiet although it fronts on a bustling Nairobi thoroughfare. Our food was very good as was our service. We also enjoyed a quick shower and clean up in our " day room" in the hotel.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Maggie’s Girl,

Thank you for staying with us at The Sarova Stanley, choosing to dine in Thorn Tree Café and sharing your experience on Trip Advisor.
The Sarova Stanley is indeed one of the oldest hotels worldwide – a true icon, and whilst we continuously refurbish and update our property, we still maintain its heritage and historical feel and am extremely pleased to note that this captured your attention.
Your comments regarding the food and service at the Thorn Tree are highly appreciated and am glad we were able to exceed your dining expectations.
We hope to host you once again.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Rightly a tourist must in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

For those with any sense of history, travel or romance, the Thorn Tree is a terrific institution. Attached to another Nairobi perennial, The Stanley Hotel, the Thorn Tree is a great place to duck into to rest from the Nairobi hubbub and eat, drink or catch-up with friends. The third generation thorn tree still has a message board and the menu is fine - good for lunch with an express menu these days.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Tim R,

Reading your review was a true pleasure – and summed up The Thorn Tree very well, we thank you for taking the time to visit our iconic hotel and dining at the Thorn Tree restaurant.
we are certainly looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorn Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Thorn Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorn Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.