We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thorn Tree Cafe

Thorn Tree Cafe
New Stanley Hotel, Kimathi St, city centre | Nairobi Central, Sarova Stanley, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 23 33283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Aarhus, Denmark
2 reviews
“excellent service....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Excellent professional service, friendly and attentive staff, especially a lady by the name Lucy Warui. As for the food, I´d have to say average. But I´d go there just for the service and attention:-). Esther, a little friendliness, helpfulness and a smile can go a long way. The security that park cars can also improve on their attitude. They told me I could go into the restaurant while they gave my driver a ticket to park, but it turned into a long story. All in all, I am recommending the Thorn Tree Cafe to my friends and will definately visit again:-)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for being a regular visitor to the Thorn Tree Café, and posting your review.

It is pleasing to note that our Staff are a highlight of your visit, and your kind words will be passed on to them.

We thank you for recommending us to your friends and shall look forward to welcoming you once again.

Many thanks,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    44
    9
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nairo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Staff, Services, and Accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff give patrons first class treatment, before you even make a request, you receive more than you requested for. Special thanks to Lucy, Mary, Carolyne, Kellen, David, Anthony, to mention just but a few of the great team.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for dining with us and your kind review. The staff mentioned will all be recognized for their efforts and hard work.

We will be happy to welcome you back any time.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Homely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I always visit thorn tree and I find it impressive all the time. Today was more Impressed by staff attitude and specifically Lucy and welcome truly homely. Was welcomed and checked on by the hostess Lucy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Service was above excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The service, especially from Lucy was just more than require. It is more comfortable than home. Give it a try and look for Lucy!!!, you will not regret

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The waitrons really fuss about you trying to ensure you have a great experience. They have obviously been trained well! The food is really good and the prices are not over the top.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Robert,

Greetings, thank you for choosing to stay at the Stanley and review both our Heritage Hotel and Historical Thorn Tree Café.

At The Stanley we believe in investing in our staff and equipping them with the right skills, hence, It brings us great pleasure to note your comments on our trained staff.

We are glad you enjoyed your meal, and found us to be pocket friendly – your comments have been shared with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorn Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Thorn Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorn Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.