We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thorn Tree at the Stanley still alive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thorn Tree Cafe

Thorn Tree Cafe
New Stanley Hotel, Kimathi St, city centre | Nairobi Central, Sarova Stanley, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 23 33283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 346 Restaurants in Nairobi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thorn Tree at the Stanley still alive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I ventured downtown this week and had an early supper at the famed Thorn Tree Cafe. It has been at least 20 years since my last visit. Still classy, good food, good service. And there is still a message board if you need to leave a message for a friend who is also passing through downtown. A fun trip down memory lane.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Joy P.

Jambo.

Thank you for visiting with us gain.
It is wonderful to learn that we have maintained the good level of service as you experienced 20years ago. Please visit with us again should you return to Nairobi.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    46
    10
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

All the dishes I've tried are very good! My favorite is the Salmon dish which I used to eat every other day during my 2-week stay in Stanley Hotel. The breakfast is good but it would have been better to have more American food as the hot meal buffet serve more African dishes. At night, the place transforms into a lively bar especially on Friday nights. The price is quite reasonable for a hotel restaurant.

The cafe ambience is inviting especially the outdoor area but it’s quite noisy since it is along the main road in town. The place is always clean and with staff ready to assist you. The service is inconsistent, sometimes they’re quick sometimes it take forever to prepare your meal.. but the food makes up for it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at the hotel on your last trip to Nairobi.

Your feedback is highly regarded and we appreciate all the positive remarks.
We take note of your concerns are looking into the issues raised.

Please visit with us again.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A wonderful meeting and eating place with clean environment.

It worth a visit anytime you are in Nairobi and you feel taking a lunch in a relaxed place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We value your feedback and appreciate your commendation.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I loved the food and the ambiance was also very good. I am specially touched by the way they packed b'fast for us as we had a very early plane to catch. Lovely food.....specially the fish. Very courteous staff.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting with us.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the food, ambience and service.
Thank you for your candid and wonderful remarks on our establishment.
We hope that you visit with us again.

Warm Regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Had a great steak here served with a heap of vegetables, which was what I was craving. Prices were reasonable and the service was excellent. The place is super clean and has a nice spot in the cente of the city!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David G, General Manager at Thorn Tree Cafe, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Bryce Y.

Greetings from Sarova Stanley,

We acknowledge your commendation and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Please patronize with us again should you visit Nairobi.

Warm regards
David Gachuru
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorn Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Thorn Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorn Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.