We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thorn Tree Cafe

Thorn Tree Cafe
New Stanley Hotel, Kimathi St, city centre | Nairobi Central, Sarova Stanley, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 23 33283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 361 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
surrey, b.c.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“brilliant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Food was good and it was in the hotel. We didn't have to wait very long for our order to come. Sometimes they had entertainment, which was bery good

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    47
    10
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Reasonable lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The food was fine. The staff were vry friendly and helpful, although the service was slow and they got the order wrong twice.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
2 reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent food, service is second to none. I have never seen waiters and waitresses who care about customers so much. Irrespective of how many people are present, they still strive to give you a personal touch and make you fell valued. Keep it up!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went here because the friends we were travelling with had been before and had enjoyed the food. However, we all ended up disappointed this time. The food bore scant resembalnce to the description on the menu, and was quite bland and uninteresting, especially the vegetarian options. The pizzas were good though.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skierniewice, Poland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“really not worth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We've been there, cause it's recommended by Lonely Planet guidebook but...first of all it is expensive, we were waiting for 2 coffee latte over 0,5 hour. At the end the waiter gave us the receipt- blank, so we asked him to give us fulfiled. He bring us fold receipt and when we checked it - it appeared that he gave us an old one for the same amount. (he wanted to steal this money).
All in all we were disgusted...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorn Tree Cafe also viewed

 
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Thorn Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorn Tree Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.