We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarit Centre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sarit Centre
Parklands Rd, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
3747408
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 315 restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Asian, European
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Odd place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I mostly go there to pay my rent - but overall it is just a weird shopping centre. Not all that nice overall - but it has a few good shops and a nice bookstore where you can get reasonably priced kids books and art supplies.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

39% Recommend
    7
    13
    22
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A feeling of greyness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We lived in Kenya 10 years ago and always enjoyed a visit to the Sarit. We returned for a holiday in July and visited the Sarit. Sadly nothing has moved on in it. If anything the aisles in Uchumi have become even narrower. The food court seems to have the same restaurants, and the same chairs - but the food (esp. the pizza) was actually quite good. The place seems tired and we were struck by the newer Westlands Mall nearby which seems shiny and new. Come on Sarit we remember you fondly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Oldest Mall in Nairobi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was Nairobi's first shopping mall, and though they have tried to modernize it, it is still ugly and cleanliness is generally lacking. Parking is available, but often difficult to find. The food court is excessively noisy, with few edible items. Has some good shops, though.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“TRYING TO COMPETE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

With the opening of Westgate nearby, Sarit Centre looks modest by comparison. There have been some efforts to improve its appearence. But Westgate is spanking new, so we go to Sarit less often than we used to.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Generic mall”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

When there was only the Sarit Centre, it was a good mall to find a few things, have a bite and catch a film. However, as Nairobi has developed, malls have inevitably popped up all over the place and the Sarit is no longer worth the traffic, in my view. The traffic around the Sarit is awful almost any time of day. The parking is dreadful and one can easily spend 20 minutes going round and round praying to the parking space fairy! The shops are all fine but now they have other branches in easier to get to malls, it makes little sense shlepping all the way to the Sarit. If I am making the effort, I would rather go to Westgate mall round the corner which has parking space, is a bit nicer and more modern and is just a generally better mall, in my opinion.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarit Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarit Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.