We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Tepanyaki food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Furusato Japanese Restaurant

Furusato Japanese Restaurant
Ring Road Parklands, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
0722488706
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 343 Restaurants in Nairobi
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Tepanyaki food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Quality of food is very good. If you try the tepanyaki menu's you won't be disappointed. Not the show cooking of a tourist trap but honest food and certainly enough!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    34
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

From Niagara region Canada. Excellent t was delicious. If your from my area it is not all you can eat... A la carte so gets a bit pricy but worth the experience

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great service, good dishes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Being from the US, I am used to quick and attentive service in restaurants and Furusato didn't disappoint. Our drinks and meals appeared in quick time and the food (where applicable) was piping hot. There were three of us and we shared a number of appetizers. The setting of the restaurant is extremely relaxing and it was a good time!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“you can never go wrong here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

been here a number of times and have tried their Ala Carte menu as well as Tapinyaki as well and we have never gone unsatisfied.

For business lunches i always go for their Bento Box - excellent value and great combination of sushi, tempura, teriyaki et all.

Dinners we have had the Tapinyaki with friends and is a great ambiance that is created with the live cooking.

A definite stop for anyone who wants good Japanese food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“5 stars if you know little about sushi”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Furusato has received 5 star reviews from many. We went there full of hope and ended up hugely disappointed.
The recipe for great sushi is seemingly simple. Quality (of ingredients), variety and the right balance. All 3 are missing.
The rice was not properly cooked. It was overcooked and lacking subtle blend of sour, sweet and salty. This is basics.
The fish was only ok and the red snapper was even below average with a strange after taste. Salmon and tuna just average. A prawn must have been marinated in vinegar which killed its actual flavour (perhaps not without a reason). Octopus and squid almost saved the day but then came the rolls.
Yes, you can feed half the Kenyan population with two. The portions are huge, way too big. And they are 90% of the overcooked rice. On top comes unidentified mix of shreded vegetables and crunchy tempura leftovers soaked in oil.
Oh, and then the venue... Big enough to host a wedding party but lacking privacy and any ambiance. Nothing to write about.
Great sushi leaves you always with some appetite for more. We left Furusato with "never again" kind of feeling.
P.S. One star goes to the staff which was prompt and kind.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Furusato Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Furusato Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Furusato Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.