We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fajita is excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Upper Hill Estate
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The fajita is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Had dinner here and was not disappointed. Though on the pricier side, the experience is worth the amount. The arabic style room by the side of the restaurant is pretty cool to relax as you take your meal but since it is only covered by cloth it can get chilly at night. The heaters they provide might not be very effective if you are very sensitive to cold. Our waiter was very efficient and the food was prepared in good time. The fajita was one of the best I have had in a long time and the pork ribs are also very well made. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    77
    14
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Classy Evening Celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Tamambo Karen Blixen has been a regular haunt so was delighted when Tamarind moved to Karen from their CBD location. A friend was celebrating a business milestone and that was the only reason needed for a special celebration. We called directly for table reservations, however its also possible to use their website or eatout.co.ke

The restaurant is very cosy and has a section with a warm fireplace, this was very welcome as I was nursing a flu. We were well received by the maitre'd who was expecting us. Gladly accepted the warm dawa mixture with lots of tumeric offered while my friends went ahead and order from the connoisseur collection of fine wines available and settled on a mature South African variety. It was difficult to decide based on the large selection of seafood available, eventually settled on classics - grilled queen prawns, lobster thermidor and seared tuna as mains. All cooked to perfection To start, we had freshly baked bread (the garlic is my favourite), crab and soup.

The service and ambience all made for a good evening and we were well attended to on this busy evening. Must definitely head back soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Business Lunch Date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I have had lunch at the Tamarind restaurant. It was the best lunch date today for a long time. The Food was excellent and the staff very welcoming.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exemplary Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I took my wife out to dinner at the Karen Blixen tamarind . I would say that they have very good customer service and some excellent dining too. Must recommend the hotel's amazing sea food and some exquisite salmon dishes. The ambiance was also great with very soothing music.it's definitely the place to go for an intimate dinner!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Dining at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Cell phones are taken from one to ensure one has a peaceful meal time. Food is excellent as is the service! Tables are private and the music is just oh so tranquil. The treat is when a plate with your name written on it in chocolate is brought to you with a slogan. Mine was so befitted for my current situation. Simply loved it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.