We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pricey but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 323 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Upper Hill Estate
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
nairobi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“pricey but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I took my wife for dinner at the Tamarind in December. The service was great and staff was happy to serve. The was a great selection of wine, drinks and food off the menu. All the sea food is really fresh and cooked to perfection.

The ambiance is cosy, but also a bit confined. It isnt a large room, so noise and loud talking large groups of people having a meal will definitely impede on any intimate meal you want to have with someone special.

The prices are rather pricey. Eating here is comparable to having a meal at a restaurant in one of the 5 star hotels in the city. So while it may not be great for every other dinner or lunch, its great if you want something special.

All in all we enjoyed our experience there. Hopefully we will return soon

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    72
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I had great expectations.
But the restaurant itself is quite dark, no windows and for me, I d like to have open spaces and nice views.
Food...probably just hardly average.
Pricing: over priced.
I hope to visit the one on Mombasa to give better rating.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dining option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

One of the best foods I had during my stay in Nairobi.
- The service is excellent.
- The breads served with the foods are really hot and delicious.
- I had T-bone steak, which was excellent.
- My friends had Bombay Fish and Prawns and they were blown away.
- The desserts platter was lovely
- We had the fish soup which was a little average
- Did I appreciate the service enough!

If I am in Nairobi again for a day, this is the place that will top my list!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“too focused on being niche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

famous for its seafood, we visited in a group. Good service, Good concept (s), personalized service....food was good

what can improve is portion size and vegetarian options. Interiors also need refresh

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a fairly upmarket seafood restaurant in the CBD. The service was fine and so it should have been because it was almost empty. The food was very good, we tried the Prawn Masala Curry which was very tasty and a decent sized portion. The wine was expensive and not the best quality so perhaps avoid the wine list. Overall I would dine here again but its not the most exciting choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.