We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fine Dining option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 384 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: European, French, African, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dining option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

One of the best foods I had during my stay in Nairobi.
- The service is excellent.
- The breads served with the foods are really hot and delicious.
- I had T-bone steak, which was excellent.
- My friends had Bombay Fish and Prawns and they were blown away.
- The desserts platter was lovely
- We had the fish soup which was a little average
- Did I appreciate the service enough!

If I am in Nairobi again for a day, this is the place that will top my list!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Talha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“too focused on being niche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

famous for its seafood, we visited in a group. Good service, Good concept (s), personalized service....food was good

what can improve is portion size and vegetarian options. Interiors also need refresh

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank InstinctiveTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a fairly upmarket seafood restaurant in the CBD. The service was fine and so it should have been because it was almost empty. The food was very good, we tried the Prawn Masala Curry which was very tasty and a decent sized portion. The wine was expensive and not the best quality so perhaps avoid the wine list. Overall I would dine here again but its not the most exciting choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great crab dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went there because we'd heard about their quality, mainly seafood dishes.
We tried two different kind of crabs, really good, also tomato soup, and we enjoyed the hole night. Is worth it

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jetaramon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
282 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'd heard great things about this seafood restaurant, so went with high expectations.
I started with a wonderful Masai Martini, followed by lovely appetisers of oysters and prawns done in various exciting ways.
My biggest gripe, is that my mixed seafood platter was overcooked. The lobster was sad and stringy, oily and frankly tastless. Sacrillege!
The fish and prawns suffered the same fate, but the calamari was exquisite. Maybe it was their chef's night off.
Desserts were novel, but a bit bland.
Wines were good.
For such a fine restaurant, with an enviable reputation for fine fare, our group had it pretty much to ourselves. Not a good sign. Or did they open especially for us? It was a Sunday night, after all.
Wines were good, the range excellent and the stained glass windows were worth a visit in their own right.
I wouldn't say don't go there. Others in our group made different choices and were delighted with their meal. However, a number that had the mixed seafood platter were of the same opinion as I was and very disappionted our precious seafood was overcooked!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fional943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing