We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too focused on being niche” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Upper Hill Estate
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“too focused on being niche”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

famous for its seafood, we visited in a group. Good service, Good concept (s), personalized service....food was good

what can improve is portion size and vegetarian options. Interiors also need refresh

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    72
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a fairly upmarket seafood restaurant in the CBD. The service was fine and so it should have been because it was almost empty. The food was very good, we tried the Prawn Masala Curry which was very tasty and a decent sized portion. The wine was expensive and not the best quality so perhaps avoid the wine list. Overall I would dine here again but its not the most exciting choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great crab dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We went there because we'd heard about their quality, mainly seafood dishes.
We tried two different kind of crabs, really good, also tomato soup, and we enjoyed the hole night. Is worth it

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'd heard great things about this seafood restaurant, so went with high expectations.
I started with a wonderful Masai Martini, followed by lovely appetisers of oysters and prawns done in various exciting ways.
My biggest gripe, is that my mixed seafood platter was overcooked. The lobster was sad and stringy, oily and frankly tastless. Sacrillege!
The fish and prawns suffered the same fate, but the calamari was exquisite. Maybe it was their chef's night off.
Desserts were novel, but a bit bland.
Wines were good.
For such a fine restaurant, with an enviable reputation for fine fare, our group had it pretty much to ourselves. Not a good sign. Or did they open especially for us? It was a Sunday night, after all.
Wines were good, the range excellent and the stained glass windows were worth a visit in their own right.
I wouldn't say don't go there. Others in our group made different choices and were delighted with their meal. However, a number that had the mixed seafood platter were of the same opinion as I was and very disappionted our precious seafood was overcooked!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quite a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

First time at this restaurant and it sure as hell will not be my last.. Loved the ambiance, service, serenity and how exclusive the place is in the middle of such a busy area. The food was just amazing; no cell phone use is allowed and "if you must smoke, don't exhale"... Worth every penny spent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.