We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fish restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
main | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 360 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: French, African, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper Hill Estate
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
London
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

A lovely restaurant with an extensive fish menu. I went as part of a large group and the service was really efficient. Food was delicious, I had a mixed fish dish and crab cakes, both presented really well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    86
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very exclusive experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The restaurant is like a pearl. In the noise center of Downtown Nairobi. Just off Moi Avenue indside National Bank Building. When you are here you will not here a sound and forget completely where you are. The service is excellent - this is when the humbleness og African culture touch the stars. By the edn of dinner you will get a surprise - my mouth is sealed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I owe this place a long-overdue apology.

We came here back in 2010 and the food and service were some of the best I've ever enjoyed. (And to give you some background, I'm a serious foodie from New Orleans who lives in LA and have been to some pretty terrific restaurants in both of those places, as well as Paris, New York and London.) The service here was so kind and impeccable: they even wrote our names in chocolate on our dessert plates!

Unfortunately, one of our party of three (who was from a country I won't name, where the tipping situation is apparently different) only left 5% tip on her check. Agh! When we found out afterward, and explained it to her, we all felt terrible. (Although two of us left 20% on our checks.)

Anyway, it was a great experience and probably this sort of thing happens all of the time, traditions being so different between countries, but I'm glad TripAdvisor is here so I can apologize, regardless.

Thanks for a wonderful night we'll never forget!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outdated & Overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited the restaurant at the weekend, and were surprised by the lack of custom, most of the tables were empty. We only visited this restaurant, as the Talisman was full (Why is this not on the list?)
The location is poor, it requires a complete refurbishment (appears nothing has changed in 38 years), service is good, if a little over attentive. The food was ok, nothing to shout about.
I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion (formal setting) or an intimate meeting, although the waiters will be asking you how's food or changing plates every minute.
A particular disappointing aspect was the waiter pushing for a tip on presenting the bill. I was going to give a good tip, until he became pushy.
Seven Seas is by far a better restaurant for fish. The Octopus and seafood platter are clearly better than the Tamarind offering.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pricey but food is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Loved the octopus starter and prawns piri piri. The service was very good. However, it was a bit pricey for the amount of food provided. Nice for a night out but can find other places that provide more value for money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.