We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
Karen Road | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 347 Restaurants in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: European, French, African, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Upper Hill Estate
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I owe this place a long-overdue apology.

We came here back in 2010 and the food and service were some of the best I've ever enjoyed. (And to give you some background, I'm a serious foodie from New Orleans who lives in LA and have been to some pretty terrific restaurants in both of those places, as well as Paris, New York and London.) The service here was so kind and impeccable: they even wrote our names in chocolate on our dessert plates!

Unfortunately, one of our party of three (who was from a country I won't name, where the tipping situation is apparently different) only left 5% tip on her check. Agh! When we found out afterward, and explained it to her, we all felt terrible. (Although two of us left 20% on our checks.)

Anyway, it was a great experience and probably this sort of thing happens all of the time, traditions being so different between countries, but I'm glad TripAdvisor is here so I can apologize, regardless.

Thanks for a wonderful night we'll never forget!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    88
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Outdated & Overated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visited the restaurant at the weekend, and were surprised by the lack of custom, most of the tables were empty. We only visited this restaurant, as the Talisman was full (Why is this not on the list?)
The location is poor, it requires a complete refurbishment (appears nothing has changed in 38 years), service is good, if a little over attentive. The food was ok, nothing to shout about.
I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion (formal setting) or an intimate meeting, although the waiters will be asking you how's food or changing plates every minute.
A particular disappointing aspect was the waiter pushing for a tip on presenting the bill. I was going to give a good tip, until he became pushy.
Seven Seas is by far a better restaurant for fish. The Octopus and seafood platter are clearly better than the Tamarind offering.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pricey but food is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Loved the octopus starter and prawns piri piri. The service was very good. However, it was a bit pricey for the amount of food provided. Nice for a night out but can find other places that provide more value for money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Sea in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

For your fresh sea food in the city go to Tamarind Restaurant. The food was fresh and so lovely. I had the fruits of the sea platter. This is so good and feels like just harvested from the sea. I recommend the Tamarind over and over again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to post a review about Tamarind Nairobi.

We are so delighted you enjoyed meal and were pleased with the food and service.

We have shared your review with our team, who will be really motivated by your remarks.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best place for seafood in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Best place for seafood in Nairobi - pricier than usual but excellent quality. Biggest prawns I've ever seen. Ask for waiter recommendations but all is usually fresh from the Kenyan coast each day. Only downside was we were given a non-too subtle hint about the tip before we paid our bill, which is rare in Kenya to be suggested to us... a bit off putting. But still reat quality and a nice change from all the meat dishes everywhere

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about Tamarind Nairobi. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your meal but concerned to larn about the unsubtle hint about the tip which we shall investigate, as we certainly do not encourage this kind of action and we are glad you brought it to our attention.

Your feedback will help us improve and we thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.