We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for seafood in Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 320 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Upper Hill Estate
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best place for seafood in Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Best place for seafood in Nairobi - pricier than usual but excellent quality. Biggest prawns I've ever seen. Ask for waiter recommendations but all is usually fresh from the Kenyan coast each day. Only downside was we were given a non-too subtle hint about the tip before we paid our bill, which is rare in Kenya to be suggested to us... a bit off putting. But still reat quality and a nice change from all the meat dishes everywhere

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about Tamarind Nairobi. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your meal but concerned to larn about the unsubtle hint about the tip which we shall investigate, as we certainly do not encourage this kind of action and we are glad you brought it to our attention.

Your feedback will help us improve and we thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    72
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
“A must if you are in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding seafood and excellent service. I had the spanish octopus (why spanish? There are no octopus in Kenia?) and the tandoori crab. My mate had the steamed crab instead. Everything was very good, the steamed crab is the best option though if you want really enjoy the genuine crab flavour.
Kind of weird the location, in the middle of a bank complex. Wine list can be improved.
A bit pricy but I would really advise a visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tamarind Nairobi.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the quality and level of our service.

With reference to your two comments, The reason for 'Spanish Octopus', is that it was introduced and named by a Spanish Celebrity Chef doing a tour at the Tamarind. Also back when Tamarind started, its location was the main hub of Nairobi. Since then many businesses have moved to the suburbs.

Meanwhile we shall share your positive remarks with our staff, to encourage them to higher standards of food and service.

Thank you for choosing to dine at Tamarind and we hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Pianist, Poor Ambiance.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Raves;
- Great entertainment [the pianist]. Skilled & played popular hits.
- Great service. Very impressive...right from reservations to the host to the waiters..incl. the manager/supervisor who stopped by our table...great job!
- Good food - drinks, garlic bread, starters & desert were great. Entree [sea food platter] was just okay.

Rants;
- Would not discourage anyone from visiting/frequenting the place but IMHO, Tamarind,Nairobi is overrated. Still surprised its rated #3 in Nairobi by Trip Advisor. However, i'd recommend Tamarind,Mombasa & their Dhow dinner experience any day!
- Overpriced. Believe the platter cost Kes 6K pp & this did not correlate to value or variety.
- Ambiance is so 1990. Urgently needs a makeover.
- Poor choice of location. Rarely in CBD coz of bumper;bumper traffic. Prefer malls or out-of-CBD locations.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Manager at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamarind Nairobi. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations and have shared your remarks with our team who will endeavour to improve in all the areas you have mentioned.

Once again, thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

A bit expensice but the food is above all expectations! A very loveley restaurant with good service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about Tamarind Nairobi. We appreciate your compliments and take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

We have shared your review with our team, who are encouraged and motivated to continue paying attention to every detail.

Once again,many thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBAI
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“A classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good food and service this place is been there for ever and keep it s reputation! lobster as it s best excellent desert good wine selection

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamarind Nairobi. We so appreciate your kind words and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

We shall share your review with our team, who will be encouraged and motivated to continue working hard and paying attention to every detail.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.