We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded glory” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarind Restaurant

Tamarind Restaurant
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden | Karen, Nairobi 00200, Kenya (Upper Hill Estate)
+254 719 346349
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 318 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: African, Asian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Upper Hill Estate
Description: Nairobi's iconic seafood restaurant which originally opened in August 1977, has recently moved from the Central Business District to the leafy suburbs of Karen at the Karen Blixen coffee Garden. The menu is a blend of the best of French, Asian and African cuisines with specialties such as the famous Prawns Piri Piri, and Chilli Crab which have earned the Tamarind worldwide fame.
kigali
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Faded glory”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this place used to be one of the best restaurants in Nairobi but it now feels like its living of its former glory. The service was very good, the food nice but nothing to rave about and the restaurant itself could do with a facelift to bring it into this century.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Many thanks for posting your review. We apologise for the unsatisfactory meal you experienced at Tamarind Nairobi. We try to offer our customers the best of food and service and regret that on this occasion we fell short. In addition we have future plans to facelift the restaurant and will alert our customers once this is carried out. Once again thank you for taking the time to view your opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    99
    72
    12
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sea Food in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

An excellent location for that sumptious sea food meal. Located along Aga Khan walk on National Bank Building, the restaurant has great staff where hospitality is at it's best.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamarind Nairobi. We so appreciate your kind words and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

We shall share your review with our team, who will be encouraged and motivated to continue working hard and paying attention to every detail.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tamarind Nairobi super food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Fresh food, good service, better to book before going to this restaurant. Tamarin in Mombasa: good, slightly too expensive, nice view, itis possible to find alternative places for sea food, a bit more simple and as good

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamarind Nairobi.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and were pleased with the quality and level of our service.Your positive remarks will be shared with our staff,who will be motivated to maintain a high standard of food and service.

We thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great sea food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The tilapia is fantastic. Its one of those places that when you want to treat yourself you go with a friends and have a good laugh over fantastic food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Tamarind Nairobi. We so appreciate your kind words and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your support .

We shall share your review with our team, who will be encouraged and motivated to continue working hard and paying attention to every detail.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Seafood what?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

A very dissapointing experience. There is a complete disconnect between price of, lets say, the seafood platter and the quantity, quality and variety of seafood served. Historically, the restaurant drives a strong brand reputation and could regain its lost glory by changing its menu with changing times. At those prices one expects 'seafood delight'...nothing less will do.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
labinaNairobi, Director of Sales at Tamarind Restaurant, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent disappointing meal at Tamarind Nairobi. We appreciate the feedback as it does help us improve, but we would like to apologise for the unacceptable quality of your experience.

Many thanks again. Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tamarind Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarind Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.