We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marble Arch Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Marble Arch Hotel to your Saves list
Marble Arch Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lagos Road | off Tom Mboya Street, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #57 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Reno
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed two nights in the suite (before our safari) and one night in a regular room (after our safari). The suite was quite large and nice b/c we were there a full day and were able to watch a movie in the living room. The room needed updating and the tile work, etc. was a little sloppy. Great balcony. But overall a very nice room. The smaller room was fully updated and clean, but of course smaller. Also a nice balcony and view. The restaurant was very nice with lots of choices, including American meals. Free Breakfast buffet was basic but good. Simple but nice lounge. Nice staff. That part of town was very loud (people, traffic, clubs, car alarms), so bring your earplugs! A good deal for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imma2013, General Manager at Marble Arch Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Great to receive feedback from you.
we are grateful to note you liked our services and we value the comments on the areas you felt we need to improve on. we are committed to ensuring comfort to our customers and these areas will be addressed.

Wishing you peace and good health.

Immaculate
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    4
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
4
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Nicely appointed with a great bathroom (nice bathtub, big sink, fluffy towels, shelves to put your things, lights in different places, all clean and new), changing area. There are a tea kettle, fridge, mosquito netting, and small bottle of water every day. Part of the corridor space is open-air so the hotel is fresh and feels spacious. Wifi is decent, though subject to random disappearances. I didn't find the rooms insufferably loud, but I am used to staying in hotels and my standards for noise are much more generous than they used to be, so maybe don't take my word on that. I like being near Super high way.

Best advantage is the staff. I left a small object in my room and they contacted me right away to let me know they had it and offered to either keep it until my next visit or send it to me! Very professional, honest and committed to making you feel at home and safe.
Another negative is that if you arrive before 8am, breakfast is not as nice as its beautiful circular dining room, serving only one juice (albeit fresh-squeezed), a bit of fruit, black tea and coffee, cups of yoghurt (with almonds, cashews and raisins as toppers) and the obligatory wheatabix and cornflakes. The hot breakfast is to order, your choice of sausage, bacon, omelet, beans and toast. Okay maybe that description sounds better than I intended it to -- but for an ovo-vegetarian it's not so great :) By 8 or 8.30 they’ve also assembled two buffet hot dishes, more cut fruit, and two more juices. The Spanish omelet is generous and well-made and you get a whole bowl of beans. For a review of the restaurant itself, look up Sir Abraham restraint on Trip Advisor. Finally, I was bummed there is no gym, but if you are really keen you can get day passes to the fitness center in Blue springs.

If you are eager for such details, check-in is 2pm and check-out is 11am.
Web Www.sunstarhotel.co.ke

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Located at the heart of Nairobi city, Marble Arch hotel is worth considering if you have something to do late atmnight within the NCBD. If you are looking for a cozy place, look elsewhere. It is practical, not cossy. If you are paranoid, about your security, this is not for you, even though it is not insecure. Food is amazing. The staff is very courteous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Marble Arch, Nairobi, Kenya, every year since 2008. The service is the best ever, and the staff is the most courteous I've ever encountered. In addition, the food is WONDERFUL! The hotel is quaint but beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imma2013, General Manager at Marble Arch Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2014
Thanks Pastor Sondra for the compliments.
It is always a joy and a blessing to have you all in our hotel. looking forward to your coming visit.

The lord Bless you and keep you.

Immaculate

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed here one night on a layover. I arrived at the Marble as the hotel I was booked at, had no rooms after booking on Bookings.com (nightmare). I checked on line for other options under 150USD and the Marble came up. The Marble hotel is right in Nairobi town. It’s easy to get to depending on the traffic and they have an airport shuttle service. Now, the room is basic and the bathroom old style, but things were general clean and tidy, TV forget it.
The staff where the real winners for me, I had European cheese/sausage to put in the restaurants fridge overnight, which the staff looked after for me. The restaurant was OK with a good mash and chicken dish i ordered late, approx 1130pm and the check-in staff were helpful. reception staff repeated several times not to leave anything valuable in the room, they have a safe at reception. This made me a little uncomfortable.
Unfortunately in the morning at 5 am there were Christian evangelists on a megaphone, next to the hotel, or in a church, I don’t know which one, the room had no insulation, so needless to say I was wide awake listening to evangelists in full swing. At 5am it was really loud!
This hotel was ok for me as a quick fix, but I will not be staying again, if I can help it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imma2013, Manager at Marble Arch Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear esteemed client,

Thank you very much for your review and valuable feedback on your stay with us. We are glad that you liked the hotel and we will talk with our neighbors about the noise and contain it.
It was nice hosting you. Wishing you all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I always try to give a chance to hotels, whenever I travel, specially when its for business...I had booked 4 days in this hotel but on the first night I decided to leave and moved to the LAICO Regency.
The hotel is very cheap, but from the entrance to the room its freaking dirty and ugly!
The room itself is very dark and it sometimes resembled a room from those African movies where they hold hostages in tense scenes.
The location of the hotel is very central, but its right in the middle of a main bus station...a little bit scary to go outside by myself and it was incredibly loud!
The only plus is that the waiter of the breakfast was nice enough to be teach me about Kenyan food and shared a little bit about his land! The city itself is lovely, but I think people should avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasco, Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Marble Arch is a nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. I have stayed there on a couple of occasions and plan on staying there again this year. Traveler's must be aware that at the airport there are some very helpful people who have been hired by other agencies to scam people into going to other motels or even use a different taxi service. Marble Arch has always had driver's at the airport awaiting our arrival, and get us back to the airport in plenty of time for our next flight. We were scammed last year by helpful transportation people who steered us away from our hotel pick up, made a false call to the hotel and assured us the hotel had sent transport for a different group of people...we believed them and allowed them to transport us only to arrive at the hotel and discover we had left our ride standing on the sidewalk.....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marble Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marble Arch Hotel

Address: Lagos Road | off Tom Mboya Street, Nairobi, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marble Arch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marble Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marble Arch Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.