We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“closed last year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nairobi Nihonjin Club - CLOSED

Nairobi Nihonjin Club
Kayahwe Road, Kilimani, Nairobi, Kenya
020-571106
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“closed last year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

That was the best Japanese food restaurant in Nairobi and Kenya.
However chef move to Korean and Japanese food restaurant SOO near Yaya center, I heard.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I go to eat here on most visits to Nairobi, its seems to have mostly Japanese patrons and has never been full when I have eaten. I find the food very good and am surprised more people do not know about it. The place is run down but who cares as I go there to get good food

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
“VEry poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

The food at this place is very poor. The ingredients seem old and the food is well prepared. The sushi here was so bad that you couldn't chew it.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Needs Maintanance!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

As introduces to us, this is the only Japanese restaurant owned by a Japanese, so we would make trips to Nihonjin club for dinner once in a while. I am surprise why the owner does not even bother maintaining the place. It is old and gives you a very dirty feeling. Food wise, I would not say the best . Perhaps it's the environment that affected my tastebuds.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“odd and interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

This restaurant is in what appears to be a japanese ladies club. Because of this the building has a strange 'lived in' atmosphere. The structure itself is quite run-down : here was a goat running around the compound, an old rusted motorcycle and a shell of a volkswagen to keep it company. The gardens are weedy -- and you sat in a patio on the back where the wooden panels and planks has generally gone to seed.

All this may sound bad -- but the service is quick, the food is very good and reasonably priced -- and I found myself quite relaxed and enjoying the general decay in the atmosphere. The 'lunch box' dishes are great value.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nairobi Nihonjin Club also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nairobi Nihonjin Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.