We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“positive vibration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani Gardens Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amani Gardens Inn to your Saves list
Amani Gardens Inn
71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Newly Remodeled Rooms
Ranked #13 of 163 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“positive vibration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

i love the garden, the new rooms looking to the garden. wonderfull nature. you cant imagine you are in a busy capital city. the service and friendlines is first class. we have ben here with our daughter. she injoyed playing with other children in garden and playground. the food is nice. dont miss the tee time at 4pm. and not to forget high speed wifi internet. thanks for keeping our nature.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We've been working hard to keep our gardens beautiful and preserve a quiet respite in the middle of the city. Please come again when you're around Nairobi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
7
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mwanza, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

A really warm welcoming place to stay. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, not what we expected in the centre of Nairobi!
The first time we stayed in an en-suite room in the 'new' block and the room was beautiful with a double balcony. When we returned after a few days away we stayed in a cheaper room with a shared bathroom, this was in the older block but still a good room, plenty of space.
We had a couple of evening meals here, both were surprisingly good! Breakfast was fine - simple but filling, the only problem is that it is served from 7.30-8.30 and then they pack it away!
Tea and coffee are always available, and a nice touch is the freshly made coffee and cake at 10am and 4pm!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for your nice review. We are happy you liked your stay here. We aim to be a retreat for people in the middle of a busy city. We have hard-working gardeners who try to preserve the beauty of our grounds.

Come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with our two young children and loved it. It is really the best place we know of in Nairobi for families to stay - lots of green space, a playground, a climbing tree and swing. Very affordable, especially for Kenyan residents. The only reason this review isn't "excellent" is because the online reservation did not work.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Hi Colin- Thanks for your nice review. We always want to be oriented toward families and have a place were kids can run and play. I'm sure your kids made great use of our tree swings while they were here.

As for our online reservation system, we are sorry there were a few glitches. We recently added this into our registration process and there were a few days of transition. It's fully operational now.

We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great value place in a convenient part of Nairobi (though a bit further from the airport than some, so make sure you leave plenty of time for the journey there (half an hour if there's no trafffic, very early morning or late night, more than 2 hours otherwise!).

Wonderful gardens, very peaceful, decent food though not very flexible with meal timings; still, they left dinner out for us which was a nice curry to heat ourselves in a microwave. Friendly, quiet, good beds and bathrooms, clean. Exactly what you hope to find in a guesthouse.

Room Tip: the new block is a higher standard than the old colonial building but maybe a bit less atmospheric
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are glad you stayed with us. Please visit us again when you are in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The rooms were excellent. Hot running water. good beds, room to move, pleasant atmosphere, nice food, a good quiet spot, TV room enjoyable place, cost - very affordable, staff - most helpful, sure, easy to find. Spacious gardens. Pay using America Express - yes.

Feel like you need a place you can be confident about. And any easy to arrange, booking place? Do it!

Room Tip: All seem fine, really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been living in Tanzania for 14 years. We travel to Nairobi a few times a year. There are other places we have stayed, but there are several things that keep us coming back to Mennonite. They have the best gardens and ambiance. The staff has always been professional. They make every effort to accommodate special needs.

Advantage of Mennonite:
1. Good safe location with secure parking.
2. Rooms are simple, but clean.
3. Free Internet.
4. A family room for children to play in, with books and toys.
5. Nice buffet style meals served.
6. Morning and afternoon tea is nice for those who are resting.
7. There is a taxi service that has rates that are quoted depending on location.
8. Walking distance to the bus line, if you want to go to the town center.
10. We meet great people from all around the world every time we go.
11. Very close to some of the most popular shopping malls.
12. Backup generator for constant power.
13. Great library of books.
14. Safes are located in most rooms. You can lock up important stuff.

Love Mennonite!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I spent just one night at the Mennnonite Guest House as I flew in late from Europe and had a meeting in Westlands the next morning. I was really impressed with the place - my booking was handled efficiently by email, the key was left as promised with the watchman, the room was simple but spotless and everything worked. The breakfast was friendly and guests are expected to share tables and chat, which was a pleasure as the place was full of people doing interesting things.

The gardens are beautiful and a tranquil oasis amidst the development of high-rise apartments and office parks in this part of Nairobi.

People should note that the guest house is really designed for missionaries and development workers, and the low prices shouldn't be mis-used by travellers on business trips or safaris that don't fit with that ethos. It's not a regular hotel, and standards of service therefore shouldn't be compared directly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amani Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Gardens Inn

Address: 71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Gardens Inn, formerly the Mennonite Guest House has a 50-year reputation of warm hospitality and quiet gardens. Located in Westlands, our guest house is situated conveniently close to major shopping malls, banking centers, and restaurants, yet the place still retains the feel of a retreat in the countryside with our old English-style buildings and ancient trees. You can spend the morning quietly reading under a 100-year old jacaranda tree, or hop in a taxi and be exploring down town a few minutes later. Amani means peace in Swahili which is a distinctive of the Mennonites. We hope you will find our gardens a peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Amani means peace in Kiswahili. Spacious gardens, friendly staff, and traditional American food bring our guests back again and again. Amani Gardens is under the Mennonite Board of East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Amani Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mennonite Guesthouse Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.