We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful value, great gardens, oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani Gardens Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amani Gardens Inn to your Saves list
Amani Gardens Inn
71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 162 Nairobi B&B and Inns
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful value, great gardens, oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a great value place in a convenient part of Nairobi (though a bit further from the airport than some, so make sure you leave plenty of time for the journey there (half an hour if there's no trafffic, very early morning or late night, more than 2 hours otherwise!).

Wonderful gardens, very peaceful, decent food though not very flexible with meal timings; still, they left dinner out for us which was a nice curry to heat ourselves in a microwave. Friendly, quiet, good beds and bathrooms, clean. Exactly what you hope to find in a guesthouse.

Room Tip: the new block is a higher standard than the old colonial building but maybe a bit less atmospheric
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, General Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks for the great review. We are glad you stayed with us. Please visit us again when you are in Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
7
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The rooms were excellent. Hot running water. good beds, room to move, pleasant atmosphere, nice food, a good quiet spot, TV room enjoyable place, cost - very affordable, staff - most helpful, sure, easy to find. Spacious gardens. Pay using America Express - yes.

Feel like you need a place you can be confident about. And any easy to arrange, booking place? Do it!

Room Tip: All seem fine, really.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been living in Tanzania for 14 years. We travel to Nairobi a few times a year. There are other places we have stayed, but there are several things that keep us coming back to Mennonite. They have the best gardens and ambiance. The staff has always been professional. They make every effort to accommodate special needs.

Advantage of Mennonite:
1. Good safe location with secure parking.
2. Rooms are simple, but clean.
3. Free Internet.
4. A family room for children to play in, with books and toys.
5. Nice buffet style meals served.
6. Morning and afternoon tea is nice for those who are resting.
7. There is a taxi service that has rates that are quoted depending on location.
8. Walking distance to the bus line, if you want to go to the town center.
10. We meet great people from all around the world every time we go.
11. Very close to some of the most popular shopping malls.
12. Backup generator for constant power.
13. Great library of books.
14. Safes are located in most rooms. You can lock up important stuff.

Love Mennonite!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I spent just one night at the Mennnonite Guest House as I flew in late from Europe and had a meeting in Westlands the next morning. I was really impressed with the place - my booking was handled efficiently by email, the key was left as promised with the watchman, the room was simple but spotless and everything worked. The breakfast was friendly and guests are expected to share tables and chat, which was a pleasure as the place was full of people doing interesting things.

The gardens are beautiful and a tranquil oasis amidst the development of high-rise apartments and office parks in this part of Nairobi.

People should note that the guest house is really designed for missionaries and development workers, and the low prices shouldn't be mis-used by travellers on business trips or safaris that don't fit with that ethos. It's not a regular hotel, and standards of service therefore shouldn't be compared directly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having read reviews on Mennonite Guesthouse we were slightly dubious about our four night upcoming booking with them, but from the moment we arrived, we noticed that the managers comments on tripadvisor about the improvements and changes he was going to make to the guesthouse were either complete or underway.

At times the place feels a bit boarding school like with a bell for breakfast, tea, lunch and dinner. A breakfast of cereal, toast, jam, tea and coffee then either eggs, beans, sausage, pancakes is at 07:30 then if you want to join for lunch and dinner you have to give two hours notice. Luckily on our first night two people were late for dinner so we managed to eat after arriving from the airport, but had this not happened we would have arrived at 7pm to find we could not eat and there are not too many other options nearby. We did find 'the Royal Kitchen' a 5 minute walk away, who will deliver.

In terms of changes that have been made following previous guests comments on trip advisor, we noticed a very efficient booking system being used by reception staff. The old block is being extended to provide more rooms. Rooms in the old block have been touched up and thoroughly cleaned, making them nearer in standard to the new block.

Room - our room in the new block, overlooking the beautifully kept and large garden, was clean with hot water and plenty of storage space. The bed was firm and comfortable, although the bed sheet was too small so we often found ourselves waking up on the mattress halfway through the night.

Overall we really enjoyed our visit and would most definitely stay at the Mennonite Guesthouse again. It really is as others have described 'an Oasis in Nairobi.'

Room Tip: Make sure you notice when booking that rooms are priced per person, rather than per room. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you understand guest houses in Kenya then you understand that this not luxury. The property has kept up garden and grounds and all basic amenities. The service is good given a guest house. Our room had a bathroom in it and a balcony that overlooks the property. The basketball/tennis court was run down and I would not expect it gets much use. There is hot water in the bathrooms via an electric hotwater showerhead. I admit it is the first of its kind that I have seen. The bathrooms were clean enough for use. They have water coolers around the rooms but you need to have a bottle or cup as I didnt see any. Breakfast was adequate and there is an incredible collection of books to read and places around the property to read them including outside eating area. This would be a great place for kids as it is fenced in and safe. We did see a few children running around and playing on the swings. They dont have much food for snacks so bring your own and they do have a communal fridge to store things. There is a communal TV but none in the rooms. Beds were quite firm.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony overlooking the garden/yard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel and safe location. Very clean and modern. Basketball court and yard with lots of space making it great for families. Meals served for a small price making it convenient for those passing through. The only complaint I had was that they weren't accommodating for late check outs or early check ins.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit with us. We highly appreciate your positive comments about the setting and the services you experienced. We do strive to provide our guests with freedom and convenience, and pride ourselves on beautiful meals served at very low cost.

I have also noted your concern about being able to pay and check out early or late. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. In the future please let us know ahead of time and we will make every effort to accommodate your schedule.

Thank you once again for sharing your honest feedback and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Sincerely
Aram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amani Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Gardens Inn

Address: 71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Gardens Inn, formerly the Mennonite Guest House has a 50-year reputation of warm hospitality and quiet gardens. Located in Westlands, our guest house is situated conveniently close to major shopping malls, banking centers, and restaurants, yet the place still retains the feel of a retreat in the countryside with our old English-style buildings and ancient trees. You can spend the morning quietly reading under a 100-year old jacaranda tree, or hop in a taxi and be exploring down town a few minutes later. Amani means peace in Swahili which is a distinctive of the Mennonites. We hope you will find our gardens a peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Amani means peace in Kiswahili. Spacious gardens, friendly staff, and traditional American food bring our guests back again and again. Amani Gardens is under the Mennonite Board of East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Amani Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mennonite Guesthouse Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.