We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite guesthouse in Nairobi- hands down!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani Gardens Inn

Save Saved
You added Amani Gardens Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amani Gardens Inn
71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite guesthouse in Nairobi- hands down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been living in Tanzania for 14 years. We travel to Nairobi a few times a year. There are other places we have stayed, but there are several things that keep us coming back to Mennonite. They have the best gardens and ambiance. The staff has always been professional. They make every effort to accommodate special needs.

Advantage of Mennonite:
1. Good safe location with secure parking.
2. Rooms are simple, but clean.
3. Free Internet.
4. A family room for children to play in, with books and toys.
5. Nice buffet style meals served.
6. Morning and afternoon tea is nice for those who are resting.
7. There is a taxi service that has rates that are quoted depending on location.
8. Walking distance to the bus line, if you want to go to the town center.
10. We meet great people from all around the world every time we go.
11. Very close to some of the most popular shopping malls.
12. Backup generator for constant power.
13. Great library of books.
14. Safes are located in most rooms. You can lock up important stuff.

Love Mennonite!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
7
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I spent just one night at the Mennnonite Guest House as I flew in late from Europe and had a meeting in Westlands the next morning. I was really impressed with the place - my booking was handled efficiently by email, the key was left as promised with the watchman, the room was simple but spotless and everything worked. The breakfast was friendly and guests are expected to share tables and chat, which was a pleasure as the place was full of people doing interesting things.

The gardens are beautiful and a tranquil oasis amidst the development of high-rise apartments and office parks in this part of Nairobi.

People should note that the guest house is really designed for missionaries and development workers, and the low prices shouldn't be mis-used by travellers on business trips or safaris that don't fit with that ethos. It's not a regular hotel, and standards of service therefore shouldn't be compared directly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Having read reviews on Mennonite Guesthouse we were slightly dubious about our four night upcoming booking with them, but from the moment we arrived, we noticed that the managers comments on tripadvisor about the improvements and changes he was going to make to the guesthouse were either complete or underway.

At times the place feels a bit boarding school like with a bell for breakfast, tea, lunch and dinner. A breakfast of cereal, toast, jam, tea and coffee then either eggs, beans, sausage, pancakes is at 07:30 then if you want to join for lunch and dinner you have to give two hours notice. Luckily on our first night two people were late for dinner so we managed to eat after arriving from the airport, but had this not happened we would have arrived at 7pm to find we could not eat and there are not too many other options nearby. We did find 'the Royal Kitchen' a 5 minute walk away, who will deliver.

In terms of changes that have been made following previous guests comments on trip advisor, we noticed a very efficient booking system being used by reception staff. The old block is being extended to provide more rooms. Rooms in the old block have been touched up and thoroughly cleaned, making them nearer in standard to the new block.

Room - our room in the new block, overlooking the beautifully kept and large garden, was clean with hot water and plenty of storage space. The bed was firm and comfortable, although the bed sheet was too small so we often found ourselves waking up on the mattress halfway through the night.

Overall we really enjoyed our visit and would most definitely stay at the Mennonite Guesthouse again. It really is as others have described 'an Oasis in Nairobi.'

Room Tip: Make sure you notice when booking that rooms are priced per person, rather than per room. If you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

If you understand guest houses in Kenya then you understand that this not luxury. The property has kept up garden and grounds and all basic amenities. The service is good given a guest house. Our room had a bathroom in it and a balcony that overlooks the property. The basketball/tennis court was run down and I would not expect it gets much use. There is hot water in the bathrooms via an electric hotwater showerhead. I admit it is the first of its kind that I have seen. The bathrooms were clean enough for use. They have water coolers around the rooms but you need to have a bottle or cup as I didnt see any. Breakfast was adequate and there is an incredible collection of books to read and places around the property to read them including outside eating area. This would be a great place for kids as it is fenced in and safe. We did see a few children running around and playing on the swings. They dont have much food for snacks so bring your own and they do have a communal fridge to store things. There is a communal TV but none in the rooms. Beds were quite firm.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a balcony overlooking the garden/yard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel and safe location. Very clean and modern. Basketball court and yard with lots of space making it great for families. Meals served for a small price making it convenient for those passing through. The only complaint I had was that they weren't accommodating for late check outs or early check ins.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit with us. We highly appreciate your positive comments about the setting and the services you experienced. We do strive to provide our guests with freedom and convenience, and pride ourselves on beautiful meals served at very low cost.

I have also noted your concern about being able to pay and check out early or late. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. In the future please let us know ahead of time and we will make every effort to accommodate your schedule.

Thank you once again for sharing your honest feedback and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Sincerely
Aram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunia, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked a vacation stay here, then had to change the dates 3 weeks ahead of time. We received email confirmation, but when we arrived we found they had not booked us in and all the self-contained (with bathroom) rooms were taken. They were very apologetic and found us a room at a convent nearby. Still, I wish I had confirmed (or re-confirmed) as we were really looking forward to staying there.
(I had to fill in the rating part but it doesn't mean anything as I didn't actually stay there.)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for our error in your booking. I certainly understand how frustrating it must have been.

An error of this sort is completely unacceptable to us and we have taken steps to improve our accuracy in bookings. We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope you will consider the Mennonite Guest House in the future when you visit Nairobi.

Regards
Aram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in July 2012.

Good points - close to Nairobi Centre, fairly safe and prices ok (though have been hiked recently). Free computer use.

Negative Points - if you want breakfast you must get up at 7.30 - this proves to be no problem as one of the staff walks around the whole complex with a xylophone (a la Hi De Hi for UK readers) and wakens everyone. The breakfast (and food in general) is very poor. The staff are not friendly at all in our view and very little is explained upon arrival. There are managers of the Guest House (an American couple, and a Kenyan couple) but I am not sure what they actually do to help guests.

This sounds a very negative review as I read it back - the place is OK - but if they want to increase prices as they have then they need to offer more for the traveller.

If you are a Christian/religious then this will be a tolerable place. There is no smoking or alcohol so if that is essential for you then don't go here.

Room Tip: You could try to request a room in the new block but it will probably fall on deaf ears.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We have noted your concerns about the friendliness of the staff and have taken steps to rectify the situation. This is certainly not adequate to the standards we strive for or typical for this guest house.

We have also extended breakfast hours until 8:30 and will do our best to accommodate other schedules. Also, some of our rooms are very popular, so please be sure to book far in advance so as to insure your choice of amenities.

We do apologize for the frustration you encountered. Thank you for giving us this valuable feedback and we hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely
Aram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amani Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Gardens Inn

Address: 71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Gardens Inn, formerly the Mennonite Guest House has a 50-year reputation of warm hospitality and quiet gardens. Located in Westlands, our guest house is situated conveniently close to major shopping malls, banking centers, and restaurants, yet the place still retains the feel of a retreat in the countryside with our old English-style buildings and ancient trees. You can spend the morning quietly reading under a 100-year old jacaranda tree, or hop in a taxi and be exploring down town a few minutes later. Amani means peace in Swahili which is a distinctive of the Mennonites. We hope you will find our gardens a peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Amani means peace in Kiswahili. Spacious gardens, friendly staff, and traditional American food bring our guests back again and again. Amani Gardens is under the Mennonite Board of East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Amani Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mennonite Guesthouse Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.