We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Yard Space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amani Gardens Inn

Save Saved
You added Amani Gardens Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amani Gardens Inn
71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lots of Yard Space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel and safe location. Very clean and modern. Basketball court and yard with lots of space making it great for families. Meals served for a small price making it convenient for those passing through. The only complaint I had was that they weren't accommodating for late check outs or early check ins.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent visit with us. We highly appreciate your positive comments about the setting and the services you experienced. We do strive to provide our guests with freedom and convenience, and pride ourselves on beautiful meals served at very low cost.

I have also noted your concern about being able to pay and check out early or late. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. In the future please let us know ahead of time and we will make every effort to accommodate your schedule.

Thank you once again for sharing your honest feedback and we look forward to serving you on your next visit.

Sincerely
Aram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    12
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
7
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bunia, Democratic Republic of the Congo
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We booked a vacation stay here, then had to change the dates 3 weeks ahead of time. We received email confirmation, but when we arrived we found they had not booked us in and all the self-contained (with bathroom) rooms were taken. They were very apologetic and found us a room at a convent nearby. Still, I wish I had confirmed (or re-confirmed) as we were really looking forward to staying there.
(I had to fill in the rating part but it doesn't mean anything as I didn't actually stay there.)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for our error in your booking. I certainly understand how frustrating it must have been.

An error of this sort is completely unacceptable to us and we have taken steps to improve our accuracy in bookings. We appreciate your valuable feedback and hope you will consider the Mennonite Guest House in the future when you visit Nairobi.

Regards
Aram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here for a few nights in July 2012.

Good points - close to Nairobi Centre, fairly safe and prices ok (though have been hiked recently). Free computer use.

Negative Points - if you want breakfast you must get up at 7.30 - this proves to be no problem as one of the staff walks around the whole complex with a xylophone (a la Hi De Hi for UK readers) and wakens everyone. The breakfast (and food in general) is very poor. The staff are not friendly at all in our view and very little is explained upon arrival. There are managers of the Guest House (an American couple, and a Kenyan couple) but I am not sure what they actually do to help guests.

This sounds a very negative review as I read it back - the place is OK - but if they want to increase prices as they have then they need to offer more for the traveller.

If you are a Christian/religious then this will be a tolerable place. There is no smoking or alcohol so if that is essential for you then don't go here.

Room Tip: You could try to request a room in the new block but it will probably fall on deaf ears.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We have noted your concerns about the friendliness of the staff and have taken steps to rectify the situation. This is certainly not adequate to the standards we strive for or typical for this guest house.

We have also extended breakfast hours until 8:30 and will do our best to accommodate other schedules. Also, some of our rooms are very popular, so please be sure to book far in advance so as to insure your choice of amenities.

We do apologize for the frustration you encountered. Thank you for giving us this valuable feedback and we hope that you will consider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely
Aram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

We have very mixed experiences. The room we ended up with was well appointed, secure and clean. Ask for a private room by the tennis court, ours was room 20. Staying in this room we had a great experience and were happy with everything including the breakfast and morning coffee break. However, the first night we arrived our private room was unavailable and so we had to stay in a room with a shared bath room which was shabby and not clean to the standards one would expect for the price being paid. The second weekend we arrived back after our safari to be bitterly disappointed with the room we were given, room 12 in the garden quarter, which was old, dark, a bit smelly and not clean or as nice as room 20. The shower and toilet had separate doors off the bedroom, but had filthy windows and old fixtures. We decided to check out and pay the cancellation fee, and find accommondation elsewhere. Had we been able to get the room 20 or similarly appointed rooms near the sports courts we would happily have stayed and been very happy. 4 stars for the nice room (didn't have mosquito nets but did have sprays) and 1 or 2 for the other rooms, so 3 overall. The grounds were extremely pretty and beautiful too.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MennoGuest, Manager at Amani Gardens Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments about our staff and the gardens. These are features which many guests mention as a reason for returning again and again to Mennonite Guest House.

We are very disappointed that one of our rooms fell short of your expectations in its appointment and cleanliness. I understand how frustrating this must have been.

We have undertaken a redecoration of the room you mention and are creating a substantial landscaping feature just outside. We have also taken steps to insure adequate deep cleaning of rooms on a regular basis.

We do appreciate your honest feedback and look forward to hosting you again when you visit Nairobi.

Sincerely
Aram
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carman
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This is a very great place to stay in Nairobi. So easy going with a feeling of home. I am a single female traveller and felt very safe and well taken care of. They will arrange airport/city transportation for you from a VERY trustworthy company - ask for Gabrielle LOL - he was my favourite! They also had really good food, clean rooms, beautiful grounds and wonderful staff. Can you tell I liked it there??

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musoma, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

There are a wide variety of rooms, and it's often difficult to get the room you want for various reasons, but this place is a wonderfully quiet and relaxing. Three good meals are served each day in very "homey" style. Despite being a significant distance from the airport, this is my place to stay when visiting or traveling through Nairobi.

Room Tip: Make reservations early and be persistent in your communication with staff to make sure you are stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have stayed at the Mennonite Guesthouse several times over the last 14 years, and can wholeheartedly recommend it. It is an island of peace amid the hussling city with its frantic traffic, set in a superb garden. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The meals are simple but good, and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amani Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Gardens Inn

Address: 71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Gardens Inn, formerly the Mennonite Guest House has a 50-year reputation of warm hospitality and quiet gardens. Located in Westlands, our guest house is situated conveniently close to major shopping malls, banking centers, and restaurants, yet the place still retains the feel of a retreat in the countryside with our old English-style buildings and ancient trees. You can spend the morning quietly reading under a 100-year old jacaranda tree, or hop in a taxi and be exploring down town a few minutes later. Amani means peace in Swahili which is a distinctive of the Mennonites. We hope you will find our gardens a peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Amani means peace in Kiswahili. Spacious gardens, friendly staff, and traditional American food bring our guests back again and again. Amani Gardens is under the Mennonite Board of East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Amani Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mennonite Guesthouse Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.