We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amani Gardens Inn

Save Saved
You added Amani Gardens Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amani Gardens Inn
71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Very comfortable, clean, pleasant place to stay. We were with kids and had the family room which had one queen bed and 4 bunk beds along with its own bathroom and toilet in the room. There are great grounds to relax in and the kids have a place to play. The food is wonderful too.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
7
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

The mennonite Guesthouse is affordable and safe. The staff is extremely friendly, reliable, and helpful, and the rooms are super cute and clean. I full-heartedly suggest this place and will come here everytime I am in Nairobi!!!! It has everything you could want for a good price!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

The Mennonite Guest House truly is one of the most relaxing locations you will find in Nairobi. The Guest House has a very unique feel to it. It is secluded, beautifully landscaped, and is managed by a very friendly staff. I have had the privilege of staying at the guest house multiple times and in all my travels across Kenya, returning to the Mennoite Guest house is always a good time to "refuel" before heading off again". One very interesting thing I can observe through my multiple visits is that there is progress in this place. Most Kenyan hotels are only getting worse over time as different features break down and the management, for who knows what reason, does not invest in fixing the issue. And as most hotels follow this trend the Guest House shows progress. In my first visit in March meals were being served under a tent. When I returned in May guest were now enjoying their meals in a beautifully constructed dinning hall. Another note on the meals. They are excellent every time. All you can eat American style dishes and tea and coffee served twice a day between meals. Highly recommended. You'll enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

I travel alone to Kenya every year or so to do work and research and see friends. I was pointed towards staying at the Mennonite Guest House for the first time summer, 2010. I was absolutely taken with the place! It creates a sense of community and offers wonderful opportunities for meeting people. The grounds are stunning and offer a respite and place of peace amid the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. The staff members are friendly and do excellent work! When I have made special requests, they have worked to accomodate me. I stayed over three weeks last year and around the same length of time this year and feel very at home. The food is great, and there is a community fridge, where I stored some food and made my own meals at times since I am a vegetarian. There is tea time twice daily that is a nice rhythm to the day. The business center and desks in the rooms and free wi-fi make getting work done here efficient and peaceful and productive. And the guest house works with a cab company, Just Connections, and has their rates posted and offers their phone numbers - so you have set rates and easy access to this transportation if you need it. And it is an easy way (1.5-2 kilometers) to Sarit Center and Westgate Mall; an a matatu is around 10 to 15 Ksh to Sarit or 20 Ksh to town and are easily accessible with about a 4 minute walk from the guest house. I will always stay here when the opportunity presents itself! book in advance as much as possible because everyone I meet who has stayed here looks to come back when they are in Nairobi.

Room Tip: If you are alone, specify lowest rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

During peak traffic hours (6am-10am) in the morning the drive from Jomo NBO airport can be slow, but once you arrive at the Church Road estate, you instantly feel gratified with your decision. I am writing this review right now on one of their lobby computers, so it is alright that I am traveling without a laptop.

My bedroom was very clean, dormitory style with a window looking into a wonderful garden courtyard. After a shower in the community bathroom I will be snapping some pictures of the place, it is truly beautiful. The meals and service are very nice, and the complimentary bottled water is perfect for tourists and backpackers.

As I have not explored the surrounding areas yet, I cannot comment on it being a good location for visiting the sights of Nairobi, however I do know we passed the metropolitan area on the way to Mennonite from the Airport. I am just transiting to Tanzania after tonight.

I am here alone, but the place would be a nice romantic spot for any couple. I miss my girlfriend.

Room Tip: Email in advance to book your reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The Mennonite Guest House is an incredibly restful, lovely place! The gardens are immaculate, and the service is terrific. It's located in Westlands right off Waiyaki Way, so it's easy to get downtown and to other parts of the city. The rooms are clean and affordable. You've got your choice of self contained rooms (private bath) or non-self contained (shared bath).

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in new wing have great views!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA UK KENYA UGANDA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

The service is outstanding, the grounds are incredibly beautiful, the staff are engaging and friendly. I actually love MGH so much that I hesitate to recommend it because I fear it will become overcrowded!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amani Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amani Gardens Inn

Address: 71 Church Road, Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya (Formerly Mennonite Guesthouse)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amani Gardens Inn, formerly the Mennonite Guest House has a 50-year reputation of warm hospitality and quiet gardens. Located in Westlands, our guest house is situated conveniently close to major shopping malls, banking centers, and restaurants, yet the place still retains the feel of a retreat in the countryside with our old English-style buildings and ancient trees. You can spend the morning quietly reading under a 100-year old jacaranda tree, or hop in a taxi and be exploring down town a few minutes later. Amani means peace in Swahili which is a distinctive of the Mennonites. We hope you will find our gardens a peaceful oasis in the middle of a bustling city. Amani means peace in Kiswahili. Spacious gardens, friendly staff, and traditional American food bring our guests back again and again. Amani Gardens is under the Mennonite Board of East Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Amani Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mennonite Guesthouse Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amani Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.