We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect landing place in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mayfield Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayfield Guest House
Ngong Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect landing place in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Mayfield is a wonderful, peaceful and cozy place, where you will love to rest after a long day. Every one there is such a delight and helpful.

The rooms are simple but very clean and the beds quite comfortable. The internet connection works very well and is quite fast. The food is always really good too. There are plenty of places to eat out. There is quite a good Ethiopian restaurant not far from there called "BLue Nile" and it was absolutely delicious. I hope it's still there.

If you need any advice, just ask the person at the front desk and you will get everything you need.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
1
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed at Mayfield for several nights in July. For a competitive price they will pick you up or drop you off at either airport in Nairobi. They also have vehicles that you can rent at a competitive rate if you need to run errands and are legally and comfortably able to drive in the city. The playground area was critical with a small kid along on the trip. And the wall, guard, and bars on the windows made us feel very safe. Family style meals are a great way to meet other mission minded folks doing great work in the region.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at Mayfield on my way to and from a mission trip to Nakuru, Kenya. The rooms were comfortable with nice pillows and mattresses and windows that opened to cooling breezes. It was refreshing to have a wonderful warm shower and soft, sweet smelling towels. Meals are family style and scheduled so you have a chance to sit down with others - often missionaries going to and from their fields - and have great conversations and fellowship. On our way back to the States, we used Mayfield as a resting spot before heading to the airport. We did not stay overnight but had rooms for changing clothes and a bathroom or two to freshen up. Mayfield has a lovely garden area with a quiet place to sit and read or chat with friends. And it has WiFi so you can catch up with friends and family back home. The staff are really lovely too!

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarime, Mara, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I have stayed at Mayfield a few times, and have always been happy. I am a missionary working in Tanzania, so it is always a treat to come up to Nairobi and network with other missionaries. Oh and the hot showers are something I enjoy. The staff is very accomodating, the family style meals are great and the food is good. I stayed once for two weeks, along with a teenager who needed surgery. The staff made sure we were on time to doctor appointments and they made sure she had meals she could eat after surgery. I go up sometimes to pick up new teams and volunteers, and would never take them anywhere else. It is about 5 minutes from a couple of shopping malls, and pretty close to the bus stand. I love staying at Mayfield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have just return from our latest Kenya mission trip. We tried Mayfield for the first time for our Nairobi stay as we were coming and going to our area of ministry. Good points: Feels like family, Clean, very clean, Safe feeling with security guard and gate, Good food (Baked Spaghetti & salad was yum), wireless internet, Great towels, In-room sink, Suitcases fit under bed, closet available, Electricity day and night, Kids play room, library, Filtered water, Mosquito nets, desk, and Hot showers. Down side: Although they request quiet after 9pm, hall noise is easy to hear. tub, showers & toilets were down the hall and shared and the pillows were extra firm. I hope they will spring for some new pillows soon. I sent them an email to suggest it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed here on multiple occasions, very friendly place and conveniently positioned just off Ngong road. Rooms are pleasant, comfortable with mosquito nets, desk, drinkable water in a jug and sink. Toilets and showering facilities close by with hot water.
Food is good, Kenyan staff are lovely and theres quick and free wifi included. Will be returning to Mayfield when back in Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We recently stayed at Mayfield en route to and from Uganda. I last stayed at Mayfield when working in East Africa over forty years ago. Since that time there have been major expansions to the guest house. The accommodation and food were certainly very acceptable and the Kenyan workers were excellent. It was also good to enjoy stimulating and uplifting conversation at meals. I was not happy with the cost. Although we were going to Uganda to do volunteer work with a Christian group we were still charged the full rate and what particularly disturbed me was that being offered a day room for our final day we were charged the full rate. No prior indication was given that this would be the case and it simply involved one extra meal and being allowed to stay in our room until our flight time in the afternoon. So unless you are working with the A.I.M. you need to be aware the place is not particularly cheap and unless you are loaded with money do not ask for a day room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mayfield Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfield Guest House

Address: Ngong Road, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Mayfield Guest House Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mayfield Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mayfield Guest House to your Saves list