We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We completely enjoyed our 3 day stay at the unique Tribe Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“We completely enjoyed our 3 day stay at the unique Tribe Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

This hotel is incredible. The staff in the restaurant, at reception and in the business center were all absolutely wonderful. The security staff were very courteous and professional and made us feel safe. Food was great and the location is just a few feet away from an upscale and fun shopping mall called The Village Market. The hotel serves a Sunday brunch and barbecue with a live band playing softly beside the pool which was delightful. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Free high speed internet was a bonus. A great place to stay !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    159
    49
    13
    13
See reviews for
44
97
49
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
96 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

This is a very stylish hotel - and from the moment you walk in you can understand the architect's logic that he wanted to break out from the "Holiday Inn box style hotel". Rooms are very comfortable and memorable, staff are unfailingly helpful and service is generally outstanding. Its location is ideal for the UN agencies and embassies (in fact it's almost like little USA with so many Americans staying whilst working with the embassy), and being right next to Village Market is great too (shops, grocery store, movies, even bowling!). But this is definitely a hotel that caters to business people travelling on expenses - the rack rates are very pricey compared to similar standard hotels in Nairobi. My stay was also subject to a number of niggles - regular powercuts (I guess that is not the hotel's fault - and they do have a generator that kicks in, but it shuts down the A/C which doesn't automatically restart, which led to me waking up in hot sweats some nights!), and a problem with the water temperature which means that it takes a long time to warm up, but once it reaches boiling temperatures it stays there (which meant that showers turned into an elaborate affair of repeatedly shutting off the water and starting again, to go from cold to hot). There were also a lot of noisy parties at the pool areas. I was also disappointed that when I arrived at 0700 they didn't have a non-smoking room for me, despite having received my booking and payment for early check-in (which they acknowledged). I would stay here again if working in Gigiri - not sure I would come here for leisure though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

staying in this beautiful boutique hotel is nothing like staying anywhere else in busy Nairobi. I was been to Nairobi many times but my first time stay at this hotel truly left me with a lasting impression. Beutiful location very close to various forgien missions and UN office, sorrounded by lush trees and bang next to a village market that hosts one of the biggest craft fairs in nairobi every friday, having a super market and shopping experience nxt door makes it all the more convenient, the rooms are beautiful and modern and the chef will be happy to cook up anything you fancy if you missing a taste of home but what stuck with me was the genuine warmth and hospitalityof the staff. I experienced it first hand when I needed immediate care following early pregnancy complications during my stay. I felt as if I was being looked after my family , everything was seamless and they went beyong the call of duty to ensure my well being. I would highly recommend this hotel for a family holiday as well as business.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I stayed for six weeks July/August 2010 during my very first trip to Africa and Nairobi. I must say; I would love to return to the Tribe again someday. Never felt so good in my life, never slept so good and never felt more secure surrounded by an excellent Tribe staff. Everyone was so kind and most friendly. Apprieciated the gift upon leaving and really do hope to return again someday. Thank you so much, everyone at the Tribe for great customer service and the unique atmosphere. Note: Also enjoyed the evening walks to the Villiage Marketplace. Great places to eat and shop. Nice bookstore, movie theater and bowling alley. Plus Jim Cab taxi at the gate. Relax and enjoy, don't worry about so much about security, it's Africa and the people are wonderful. Take time to talk to everyone you meet and just be yourself. Thank you Tribe...I hope you read this. Kevin

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Good things first:
The hotel looks great, is trendy with a very nice pool area.
Lucy, the breakfast waitress was always very nice and kind. Made us feel good every morning with her big smile. Keep it up Lucy. You are the best!
The door men are very friendly and always welcome you with a big smile
The hotel manager, Mark, is great! Has an open ear for the customers needs
Not so good:
Restaurant service - especially the grumpy lady at the entrance in the morning. She always looked like she was forced to be there....smile please. Any special wishes like pancakes took almost an hour to prepare!!
The TV channels need improvement - only afew channels available

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Tribe Hotel is not near the centre of town but very near the UN and main embasseys. I "boutique hote" ( I do hate that label) with quirkey design features and interessing touches to the rooms and environment. I has a standard room which was very nice- comfortable bed, sound proof from hotel noise and other rooms, free Wifi which worked very well - and best for of all, good ground coffee and a cafetaire instead of the usual instant coffee, good qulaity tea and a mni bar that all items are free for the first use.
First calls service from everyone including sorting out my ticket, arranging taxis and transport to the airport.
The pool is more for lounging around in, but as I was working, that was not an issue. A well equiped Gym is alos avaiable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Our tour operator booked us in here for an overnight transit stay and we can't understand why? It took two hours to get there due to the traffic. The tour operator must have been aware of that because Nairobi traffic is notorious. After 9 hours travelling another two was ridiculous for an overnight with a very early flight the next morning. Left at 6:30am and that only took 45 minutes by beating the rush hour.
We didn't use much of the facilities in the hotel but can recommend the pizza bar in the village mall.
The rooms were good with large beds and tea making facilities. However, no milk for tea and when we asked for some from room service we were charged £1.50. Never before in 30 years travelling have we been charged for milk!
The breakfast was excellent (though we were rushing to make our connection).
Definitely a hotel catering for business people on expenses.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#10 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 603 reviews
10.7 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#5 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.