We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Bit Pricey, but worth every cent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Perfect! Bit Pricey, but worth every cent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

I stayed for six weeks July/August 2010 during my very first trip to Africa and Nairobi. I must say; I would love to return to the Tribe again someday. Never felt so good in my life, never slept so good and never felt more secure surrounded by an excellent Tribe staff. Everyone was so kind and most friendly. Apprieciated the gift upon leaving and really do hope to return again someday. Thank you so much, everyone at the Tribe for great customer service and the unique atmosphere. Note: Also enjoyed the evening walks to the Villiage Marketplace. Great places to eat and shop. Nice bookstore, movie theater and bowling alley. Plus Jim Cab taxi at the gate. Relax and enjoy, don't worry about so much about security, it's Africa and the people are wonderful. Take time to talk to everyone you meet and just be yourself. Thank you Tribe...I hope you read this. Kevin

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    124
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
35
80
40
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Good things first:
The hotel looks great, is trendy with a very nice pool area.
Lucy, the breakfast waitress was always very nice and kind. Made us feel good every morning with her big smile. Keep it up Lucy. You are the best!
The door men are very friendly and always welcome you with a big smile
The hotel manager, Mark, is great! Has an open ear for the customers needs
Not so good:
Restaurant service - especially the grumpy lady at the entrance in the morning. She always looked like she was forced to be there....smile please. Any special wishes like pancakes took almost an hour to prepare!!
The TV channels need improvement - only afew channels available

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Tribe Hotel is not near the centre of town but very near the UN and main embasseys. I "boutique hote" ( I do hate that label) with quirkey design features and interessing touches to the rooms and environment. I has a standard room which was very nice- comfortable bed, sound proof from hotel noise and other rooms, free Wifi which worked very well - and best for of all, good ground coffee and a cafetaire instead of the usual instant coffee, good qulaity tea and a mni bar that all items are free for the first use.
First calls service from everyone including sorting out my ticket, arranging taxis and transport to the airport.
The pool is more for lounging around in, but as I was working, that was not an issue. A well equiped Gym is alos avaiable.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

Our tour operator booked us in here for an overnight transit stay and we can't understand why? It took two hours to get there due to the traffic. The tour operator must have been aware of that because Nairobi traffic is notorious. After 9 hours travelling another two was ridiculous for an overnight with a very early flight the next morning. Left at 6:30am and that only took 45 minutes by beating the rush hour.
We didn't use much of the facilities in the hotel but can recommend the pizza bar in the village mall.
The rooms were good with large beds and tea making facilities. However, no milk for tea and when we asked for some from room service we were charged £1.50. Never before in 30 years travelling have we been charged for milk!
The breakfast was excellent (though we were rushing to make our connection).
Definitely a hotel catering for business people on expenses.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

Tribe is the perfect blend of local and modern, boutique and authentic, luxury and laid back. The service is outstanding. The food and cocktails are perfection. The decor is drop-dead. Whether you're at the pool, the bar, the gym, or in your room, there is no forgetting you're in Africa, surrounded by the classiest statutes and carvings, a tribal edge with all the amenities. There is great shopping a few safe steps from the hotel and a concierge service happy to help you arrange anything from a day excursion to the rift valley to a 10 day safari on the Mara. With Tribe is the perfect place to rest your head in between. I wasn't there for business, but a perfect place to stay for business travelers who are looking for NY or London connection capabilities right in the heart of east Africa. Don''t miss it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowthorne, Berks
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Service very poor and slow, food atrocious , so bad we did not have to pay, could not use pool or sit by pool due to as external event.Second stay, no hot water ( not told on arrival), room not clean and bedding smelt of perfume ( had to change rooms at 11.00pm), ask for light meal and was told to go across road to shopping mall etc etc.
Also too far fromm airport , 1.5-2.0 hours in rush our.
Only good part, we got full refund for second night with no arguement.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This was my first time at Tribe Hotel. The hotel looks fabulous and has all the comforts one needs to feel at home. The porters at the entrance were very friendly and helpful all the time. The outside pool area looks amazing. The room is very cozy and has a very warm feel to it. The bed was extremely comfortable. The television channels need to be tuned in better, they are not tuned in back to back and you need to scroll through many channels to actually find one that works. Penina at the front desk is very sweet and helpful, she however made a mistake with payment on check in, we paid $360, she posted it as $340, we then paid an extra $20 as the total for accommodation was $380, she then posted the $20 and had to repost the first mistaken amount as well. These kind of mistakes can be avoided. Penina apologized for the mistake and all was okay. We also had a driver that was supposed to collect us on the morning of check out and take us to the airport, the driver hadn't showed up and Penina was so kind as to call around any try to get hold of the driver or the specific taxi company. The hotel is perfectly situated at the village market, and all I had to do was walk across the road to get some shopping done. Housekeeping staff was very speedy and efficient when I needed something pressed. Overall, I had a great stay and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.