We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Decor, and Such Attention to Detail - Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Top Contributor
680 reviews 680 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
1,661 helpful votes 1,661 helpful votes
“Amazing Decor, and Such Attention to Detail - Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Tribe Hotel is an amazing work of art. It is a business type hotel, but feels so Africa. We were amazed by the intricate details put into every part of the hotel. Everything from the curtains to the walls to the lighting to the decor was just impressive. We just walked around the hotel and admired the architecture and decorations for quite some time. There are really no views from the hotel, so don't worry about where your room is located too much.

LOCATION - Tribe is located next door to the Village Market, which is an outdoor shopping mall. It is on the outskirts of Nairobi in the posh embassy district of town, on the opposite side of town as the airport, so check what time you're arriving. If it's at rush hour plan on a good 1.5 hours to get there. If it's at other times, then probably 40 minutes. It's not really that far, but the traffic in Nairobi is just a nightmare. You can walk next door to the Village Market and do some shopping, get your cell phone or blackberry set up at Safaricom, catch a movie or get set up with supplies. The one thing they don't have is anywhere selling safari-type clothing. The surrounding area is posh and wooded, lovely actually. There are mansions all around, and the road winds through the forest. Just plan around the traffic.

ROOMS - We were in a Superior Room, which I guess differs from a deluxe room only in size and size of the TV. The room was lovely, spotless, spacious and very attractive. There were a couple of small maintenance issues, but a phone call to the front desk got those fixed right away. The bathroom is separated from the rest of the room by frosted glass, so consider that if you're into your privacy in the bathroom. Our room was on the bottom floor, which was convenient for breakfast and the pool area, but at 8:00 AM every day they vacuumed outside, waking us up. I'd ask for a higher floor next time. Large flat-screen TV, nice desk for working, and very African decor made for a nice stay.

SERVICE - With the exception of the front desk, the staff was all extraordinarily friendly, especially the security guards outside. We were always met with a "jambo" and a smile. The front desk was not overly friendly or helpful, and when we made requests they were slow to respond, but they were not bad, just not as friendly as the rest of the staff. We were called also by the guest relations manager to ask if we were enjoying our stay and if there was anything they could do for us, which we appreciated. Overall slow, but that is typical in Kenya, so you can't be too hard on them.

AMENITIES - There is a beautiful pool area just outside the restaurant, perfect to sit and have a cocktail and relax. The restaurant was very nice, with mostly good food, and a lovely ambience. We wished for a bit more African food, as it was pretty generic international selections, but we ate there twice and were satisfied. The breakfast was decent, nothing to write home about but fine. There is a rooftop hookah lounge which was nice in the evening. A bit of music, and if you like to smoke hookah there were lots of different flavors.

BUSINESS - There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel, which was very nice. This is a comfortable business hotel, particularly popular with the diplomatic set due to its location.

Overall, we loved the Tribe hotel. It had all the amenities we needed, a lovely ambience particularly for a business type hotel, and the staff was very nice. A beautiful place. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    124
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
35
80
40
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I was thoroughly impressed with Tribe Hotel from their remarkable décor to their impeccable service. To start, the building is in a beautiful setting surrounded by green foliage and varied landscape. Once you are greeted by genuine smiling faces at the door you walk into such a tasteful and modern hotel that it’s hard to remember you are in Africa! The food is exceptional with a wide range of choices available. Their gym is great--they have a machine I had never seen before where you can do over 200 exercises! I usually like to workout on my own but their gym experts are so knowledgeable and friendly I couldn’t leave without asking them to set up a workout for me. I used their business center also. Their internet was faster than I expected, I got more work done there than any other place during my trip. My favorite spot in the hotel was the beautiful rooftop lounge, suitably called Nest, with comfortable couches and just the right ambiance where I could enjoy the vibe from a crowd but also relax and take in the scenery. And the proximity to Village Market is so convenient; there, I found all sorts of good places to shop and get souvenirs, I could even do my nails! Anddd they have the best food court I have ever tried in any mall. But back to the hotel…It’s fabulous! The place was so beautiful and their staff so attentive, I did not want to leave. I am already trying to plan a second visit! With Tribe Hotel in Nairobi, there’s no other place worth going!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kragujevac
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The hotel web site says its 25 minutes from the airport. May in a private helicopter. It took us two and a half hous to get from JKIA to the Tribe which is ALL the WAY across town. For 230$ a night the duvet had holes init, the electric sockets were coming out of the walls, house keeping did not answer the phone on three different tries letting th ephone ring 50 ties. Had to eventually hand carry the laundry to the desk. Checking out they conveniently "could not find the credit card impression for extras they took" but I "was not to worry" although I was double charged in Guinea and my colleguae was just double charged in Zambia for the same thing. Coupled with the fact that you are basically a hotel prisoner in Nairobi becasue of the crime it just is not worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Just perfect. End of story!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Stunning hotel - amazing design, good trendy rooms and excellent staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai UAE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

The Tribe is and does feel like a real anomaly in Nairobi.

Let me start off positively and say this place is great - ultra comtemporary-chic, modern, new and actually very tasteful indeed. The service and staff are all bang-on and attentive unlike many in African (or less modern) citiies who appear to have to escalate anything more than a 'good morning sir' to their management.

Now, to explain my title above. So yes, the first impression is great. And it lasts. Everything is new, shiny, tasteful, in good order. Even though this hotel is a little remote from most of the interesting parts of Nairobi (in Karen) - this doesnt matter, because this place is all you really need. Lavish (almost overdone, but not quite) decor. Amazing beds and duvets and pillows - best sleep for ages.

The 'Holiday Inn' feel however describes the fact that the walls are thin. You can hear next door if they speak. You can hear next door (or any door nearby) closing at night as it's guest retires. In other words - all this luxury but WITHOUT a solid feel to it.

That said, it is a perfect place to become a hermit for a few days. I personally left the Masai Mara early with my wife, due to an urgent medical condition. After a night in Karen hospital (write this name down in case you need medical assistance in Nairobi - they're excellent) we retired here, and it was a great place to recuperate and rest.

A little cold (August) to use their pool, however it was just as nice to look at (from our room window or trendy little rooftop bar) with it's blue neon edging, pillars rising into the air, in-pool seating and bar, gushing waterful etc.

Once again on the service - we got a fairly poor room service meal (the food/room service isn't bad but not 'great' either) which was quickly collected and replaced by another order of our choice - all at no charge at all. That shows a place that knows service - don't quibble with the guest, dont let guests get annoyed by something that may cost only $10 to the hotel vs you ever coming back again.
This extended to the minibar - all of its initial contents were free - you only pay for top-ups thereafter. Can't say fairer than that, and that itself is a nice touch and pretty rare.

And so it should be for a total of around $320 USD per night. Not cheap by any means.
You're paying for the ambiance. The immaculate set of several hundred+DVDs (all foreign copies by the way, all of which didnt work in the TV/DVD player in the room, but did luckily on my laptop) that you can 'hire' at no charge, alongside the small library of books - all similarly unthumbed and new looking. You're paying for the furniture, the art, the lighting, the water features, the over-the-top decor which, to be honest, is actually very tasteful and luxurious.

Dislikes: the bathroom is part of the bedroom, so even the closest of couples will have to prepare themselves for the sight of their significant other taking a crap through the mostly translucent glass. Even the bathroom itself has no separation from the bedroom (Tribe - a slide door would be good!), so from the bed the whole room just looks like - well, a bathroom. All nicely fitted mind, very modern.

In summary, stay here if you happen to find yourself in Nairobi for a few days (why would you want to be there any longer anyway?) and have a large wallet. There's also a nice place to buy African gifts and trade at the masai roof market just 50 metres away every friday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

To start with a quick summary: Excellent design hotel, combination of African style and modern art, thousands of small details that make the hotel exceptional, large luxury rooms, incredible staff and service, amazing trips and a great restaurant with best breakfast and meat quality that I have ever seen.

Normally, I do not like to spend time writing reviews. But the experience at Tribe made me do an exception.

I spent a few days with my girlfriend at Tribe, before heading off to a Safari at Masai Mara. I have been to quite a number of design hotels, and was keen to see what Tribe is like. We were amazed by this hotel, no wonder this hotel wins one award after the other.

To provide some details:

Hotel: The hotel is located centrally, close to the village market, in a very safe and nice area. It is brand new. It is amazing how the entire hotel combines very modern architecture with African style and art, you really feel the spirit of Africa, combined with luxury. The lobby, the hotel rooms, the bar area and the restaurants are designed with numerous small details e.g., modern African sculptures and pictures, small separees with chandeliers from the very top of the building, generous use of space and warm colors. I still wonder how the designer accomplished the very cozy and warm atmosphere.

What I liked best is the terrace on top of the hotel, which was created in an oriental style. The best place to smoke a shisha, take one of the African cocktails during sundown and experience a romantic evening.

Pool area: This is the other place I enjoyed most. The design fits completely into the overall architecture. It is a combination of 2 pools, a big waterfall, tables and chairs integrated into the pool (no better place to take a drink during the day), and very nice lunch/dining as well as relaxing areas. During the sundown, with all the lamps and lights, it is difficult to understand whether you are in the Middle of Africa or in an oriental area - amazing.

Guest rooms: Generously designed, same style combining modern art and African feeling. Large beds and bathrooms! Great!

Restaurants: The breakfast is great, a combination of life cooking with a large buffet, offering the full range of meats, fresh fruits, several freshly squeezed fruit juices, yoghurts, breads, coffees, teas, etc. - We enjoyed every morning a long and lasting breakfast. We also had once lunch and dinner at the hotel. What I liked a lot was the extremely high quality of meat - I wish you could find such a quality in Europe. Astonishing were the very reasonable prices for this quality.

Service: Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. The staff helped us a lot with organizing trips around Nairobi and even the trip to Masai Mara. We did a day trip around Nairobi organized by Tribe staff, it was an amazing trip! Even when we arrived late one night and the bar was already closed, a very friendly staff member mixed a cocktail for us!


I hope I did not forget anything. Overall, this is clearly a 5 PLUS Star-Hotel and I would recommend it to everyone being around. Absolutely the best choice for Nairobi, if not for complete Africa!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.