We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, fun and superior service Nairobi hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Classy, fun and superior service Nairobi hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Beautiful and unique design throughout the entire hotel is what stuck in my mind the most, right next to the refreshing, upbeat ambiance. Service excels among all staff, from the resourceful concierge and reception, to the extremely knowledgeable guide and the attentive Manager. Was definitely a memorable stay.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    229
    123
    45
    11
    9
See reviews for
35
79
40
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

My husband was there for business and I was on my own. There isn't much to do around the hotel, except the Village Market...which I saw in 2 days. The security is tight because of terrorism and/or kidnappings...it's very close to the U.N. and U.S. Embassy.
The inside has a cool vibe...like the 'W' hotels. Lots of little areas to relax or converse.
The breakfast was $18...a bit high for eggs. Then I found a black hair in my omelette...yuk! The room was nice, but not clean either. I wrote 'dust' on the tv and took pictures of the black hair in the shower...yuk! The 1st day I tried to take a nap and 3 times someone from housekeeping entered my room...only to exit quickly when they realized someone was in there. Then I realized the door wasn't locked...I told the front desk when we left for dinner. When we came back she said it had been fixed. I asked if she needed my keys to reset, she said no. Of course, the keys didn't work and had to go back downstairs.
The AC didn't always work. We later found out that the electricity goes out and the hotel runs on generator...and the AC won't work on that. It was 26-28 celsius...too hot to sleep. On the 3rd day they brought us a fan after several complaints.
I left 2 days early and husband stayed for meetings. I left him a bag of souvenirs (I took half and left half for him). The next evening they were gone. I was in Turkey and it was difficult to get in touch with me. When he finally did, he asked if I had taken all of them...no. He complained to the front desk, but they never found them.
We emailed the manager and he said he'd look into it, but never got back to us. He eventually offered us a 2 night stay. We just wanted the souvenirs.
It's a nice hotel, but the service is terrible. If you don't have business nearby, I wouldn't recommend it. I wouldn't come here for a vacation. If you go, watch your things!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Tribe (The Village Market Hotel)
The theme, “One Planet – One Tribe”, describes the philosophy of this hotel’s management. From one’s first steps into the lobby, the art and architecture brings out the spirit of Africa. The hotel’s rooms, pools, gardens, reception areas and restaurants reflect a highly modern approach. I couldn’t believe I was staying in a hotel in the middle of Africa. Accompanying this high quality is the service which was exceptional. It is no wonder the Tribe Hotel continues to receive awards from media and organizations from around the world. It is 5-stars +. You really can’t get any better than that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington D.C.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Just stayed at this hotel and I was very impressed. Really really hip--great bars and very nice rooms--somewhat akin to a 'W' Hotel in the States. Kind of expensive, but Nairobi is pricey at times. Very good security and positioned within the Village Market, which is a very ritzy set of restaurants and stores--2 minute walk from the hotel. Could be a very romantic spot and its away from the downtown area. Would love to stay here again. Apparently partially owned by Iranian interests though.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Fantastic hotel in Nairobi. We usually stay at the Norfork, but from now on we'll be returning to the Tribe. Lovely room and common areas. My only question mark is the restaurant. Breakfast was good but we had some friends over for dinner one night and each of us found the portions to be tiny or nothing exceptional. The Spa is not yet up and running. They have just one massage room and I wasn't able to get an appointment.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

This hotel ranks as one of the most interesting I've ever experienced, anywhere. And I've been everywhere (except Antarctica). Accent lighting, the use of decorative pieces, clever breaking up of visual lines and creative use of materials give this hotel a funky, edgy take on Africana.

The food is very good. The service is very good.

The rooms are nicely appointed, with the only drawback being the typically African neglect of correct water drainage from the shower. (I haven't been to a hotel anywhere in Africa that has ever gotten this correct - they just can't do grading/plumbing I guess).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

I was in awe of the modern architecture when i first stepped inside. It is full of hundreds of african art, each one really interesting to look at with deco-art furnitures to match. The hotel gives that homey feel which is something not common among other hotels. You can stay in every corner and will be comfortable. The staff are very hospitable and friendly too. It is a spot worth a tour

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.