We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

Highly recommend this beautiful hotel. The staff and management were wonderful. Each floor of the hotel has different types of African art. The restaurant is well staffed and the foodis very good. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. The wi-fi was a bit spotty but manageable. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    130
    47
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
84
44
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

"I don't understand your problem". This is the best the staff of this hotel will be able to do if you ask them why a room without a bathtub and a direct view on the noisy central air conditioning unit is as expensive than another spacious room with a pool view and a bathtub. You would not pay more than $40 dollars a night for some of the rooms, although others are acceptable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normiego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

From the second you are driven through the gates of this incredible property you feel like you have been transported to another world -- and in some ways you have. Just outside the chaos of Nairobi, this oasis awaits. The modern yet inherently African architecture and design are literally awe-inspiring. The staff -- incredibly warm, knowledgeable, and helpful - by the second day you feel like they are your local friends more than employees. The food and amenities are also beyond compare. Having traveled the world and been lucky enough to stay in some of the finest hotels, I rate Tribe among the very very best!

Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

clean room, good linens, great service,very polite n helpful staffs.free wifi - yipeee
gd security... set backs:-far frm town :( & a little bit pricey for nairobi

Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

I'm on my last night of business in the Tribe Hotel. The electricity has just gone off for at least the tenth time this evening. The room wasn't made up when I got back from my meeting today. Laundry not done. Everything I tried to order on the restaurant's menu wasn't available. The meal that finally arrived wasn't what I ordered. Gym not ready for use - but there was a building site outside my bedroom window in its place!

I really want to like this hotel because it is beautifully and thoughtfully decorated and the staff are genuinely well meaning. But it is simply missing the mark on so many areas that I wouldn't return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

I stayed for 3 nights at the Tribe Village end August - beginning of September, and there is simply nothing to add to everything that has already been written by others. This is simply an amazing hotel, where everything and anything is top quality. Truly a five star hotel at all levels. Room, restaurant, service, location. You name it and it lives up to all possible expctations. Don't stay at any other hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I'm not usually compelled to write reviews unless a hotel is so good that I want the world to know (see La Reserve Geneve), or so unsuspectingly bad that I want to warn people (see Sonoma Fairmont Mission Hotel). In this instance, I had such a great experience, I felt this hotel really deserves to be noticed.
I stayed at the Tribe Hotel for 5 nights after reading on Tripadvisor that it was rated the No.1 hotel rated in Nairobi. It being my first time in Africa, I did not know what to expect from hotels, but Tribe exceeded all of my expectations.
Standard room: quite sizable with a large glass bathroom, shower, and very inviting bathtub. 30 inch (I think) flat-screen TV mounted on wall, plenty of closet space, free wi-fi, and free drinks and snacks in the minibar. The bed was comfortable with down duvets. I'm a big fan of variable lighting and the room had different lamps to suit your needs - I especially liked the ambient one built into the bed's headboard. Most of all, I appreciated the details that made this room feel like home: the shape is curved so as not to feel like an insitutional box, and the room has the artwork of african sculptures and pottery that I liked so much that I purchased some of the same ones at the gift shop.
Restaurant/Bar: The day I arrived, a chef from the Morrocan royal family was at the hotel so I had the most amazing Morrocan lamb meal. Subsequently, all of my meals were both interesting and delicious. The Thai food was also special, and when I asked why they had Thai food on the menu, I was told it was a recipe from the royal Thai chef that had also traveled to the hotel with the royal family. Most hotels have very predictable menus to accommodate the general food preference of business travelers, so this was a very welcome change. The drink menu was just as adventurous and tasty - no wonder there were regular local expats who would go to Tribe just for an evening cocktail in a chic atmosphere. There
Staff: The doormen at the entrance were warm and inviting each time I entered and left the hotel, and with very good memories! The restaurant/bar waiters also seemed genuinely friendly and attentive but discreet in their service. In addition to the concierge that helped me arrange a safari, the hotel also had a very knowledgeable VIP Liason staff member who helped me with some important work details.
Security: I really appreciated the many measures the hotel had in place to secure the property both inside and out. I also noticed personal body guards of VIP guests discreetly stationed at he hotel. And yet it still felt open and friendly and the hotel treated everyone equally.
I could go on and on about their drivers, spa masseuse, pool, live music, etc. but I think I hit the important points that most travelers are looking for on this site.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.