We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service, rooms, food, and hotel design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding service, rooms, food, and hotel design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

I'm not usually compelled to write reviews unless a hotel is so good that I want the world to know (see La Reserve Geneve), or so unsuspectingly bad that I want to warn people (see Sonoma Fairmont Mission Hotel). In this instance, I had such a great experience, I felt this hotel really deserves to be noticed.
I stayed at the Tribe Hotel for 5 nights after reading on Tripadvisor that it was rated the No.1 hotel rated in Nairobi. It being my first time in Africa, I did not know what to expect from hotels, but Tribe exceeded all of my expectations.
Standard room: quite sizable with a large glass bathroom, shower, and very inviting bathtub. 30 inch (I think) flat-screen TV mounted on wall, plenty of closet space, free wi-fi, and free drinks and snacks in the minibar. The bed was comfortable with down duvets. I'm a big fan of variable lighting and the room had different lamps to suit your needs - I especially liked the ambient one built into the bed's headboard. Most of all, I appreciated the details that made this room feel like home: the shape is curved so as not to feel like an insitutional box, and the room has the artwork of african sculptures and pottery that I liked so much that I purchased some of the same ones at the gift shop.
Restaurant/Bar: The day I arrived, a chef from the Morrocan royal family was at the hotel so I had the most amazing Morrocan lamb meal. Subsequently, all of my meals were both interesting and delicious. The Thai food was also special, and when I asked why they had Thai food on the menu, I was told it was a recipe from the royal Thai chef that had also traveled to the hotel with the royal family. Most hotels have very predictable menus to accommodate the general food preference of business travelers, so this was a very welcome change. The drink menu was just as adventurous and tasty - no wonder there were regular local expats who would go to Tribe just for an evening cocktail in a chic atmosphere. There
Staff: The doormen at the entrance were warm and inviting each time I entered and left the hotel, and with very good memories! The restaurant/bar waiters also seemed genuinely friendly and attentive but discreet in their service. In addition to the concierge that helped me arrange a safari, the hotel also had a very knowledgeable VIP Liason staff member who helped me with some important work details.
Security: I really appreciated the many measures the hotel had in place to secure the property both inside and out. I also noticed personal body guards of VIP guests discreetly stationed at he hotel. And yet it still felt open and friendly and the hotel treated everyone equally.
I could go on and on about their drivers, spa masseuse, pool, live music, etc. but I think I hit the important points that most travelers are looking for on this site.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    133
    47
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
84
45
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

I can not say enough wonderful things about the Tribe Hotel! The hotel itself is SO beautiful, clean and in a great location. Very safe area, great security and a WONDERFUL staff! My stay in Nairobi was for business and leisure. I was in this hotel for 2 months and there is no where else I would want to stay! The staff treats you like royalty. It is a quiet hotel, yet there are events during the week and on weekends that you can attend at the hotel. The nights that the events took place if I was in my room I could not hear what was happening outside of my room. It was very quiet and the owners/managers make sure everyones needs are met. (Note: a perfomer you HAVE to see while in Nairobi is a local performer named Maia. Ask the hotel staff and they can tell you where she will be performing during your visit) One thing about it you leave Nairobi not only receiving a wonderful cultural experience but you also leave with a lot of friends. If you want an amazing experience while in Kenya the Tribe hotel should be your first stop.....

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

This is not your typical African experience. The Tribe is impeccably appointed and has a boutique hotel price. It's very chic, and hip, glossy and cool. But there is no warmth to the hotel, you could be anywhere in the world, the only thing reminding you that you are in Kenya is the decor, with its African statues and fabrics here and there. My room was beautiful. When you turned off the a/c however, you could smell the drains. If you are transiting through Nairobi and need a place to stay for a night, the Tribe is a good choice. Adjacent (and safe to walk to) the VIllage Market shopping center, you can eat, drink and shop - the mall is your back yard. If you want to discover Nairobi, however, you may find this hotel a little too remote. The hotel is the Latest Thing, though, so for trendsetters, expats and oil execs it's a must-do. At the time of the visit, the spa was still in the works, though in-room massages were available.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

What a suprise! Having prepared myself for paying top dollar for a tired old establishment in Nairobi, up popped Tribe hotel. At a similar rate as older and less impressive hotels, Tribe absolutely lifts the bar. Looks like a funky primo-city digs, feels uber-friedly like only Africa can. Arcitectually impressive, the lobbyimpresses with a jazzy vibe and cool bar. The standard room has plenty of room, king size bed, desk with Internet options and free WIFI, cable TV and handmade chocs on folddown area nice touch. Breakfast at Epic is lush and the service is "whatever it takes". A generous restaurant mgr arranged gift vouchers for me at 10pm on a Sat night, no problem! Normally $320US a night, but snagged it for $150US. Try Googling "Ballantynes PR" for a referral to Tribes reservation dept at the discounted rate.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

The Tribe is staffed with friendly personnel at every level. They are knowledgeable about the city and someone at the reception desk or in the open office can help you plan your next excursion.

The open concept rooms are quite different from traditional hotel layouts. The bathrooms are a part of the room, as opposed to being a different entity, and definitely feel luxurious. Control of the water pressure and temperature is great. The soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion are all made from quality organic ingredients. Each room has a widescreen LCD TV, great for watching the local news, but if you want to relax with a movie, you’ll probably want to spend some time in the Tribe’s awesome TV room equipped with a library of DVDs, 60+ inch LCD TV and surround speakers.

The hotel itself is a modern art gallery with works from local artists and others from Kenya. If you like the art, chances are you can buy similar pieces in the Village Market. The art pieces are located all over the hotel, even in the rooms, and compel you to explore the Tribe’s unique architecture. If taking the elevators, be sure to try both of them out for some nice lighting effects.

Breakfast is included and is amazing. Every taste is catered to (sushi and wings for breakfast, no problem). Breakfast runs until about 11am, which is great if you just feel like sleeping in a bit. The breakfast area overlooks the open pool. The pool has different sections and elevations and surrounded by lounge chairs to enjoy the Nairobi sun.

For other meals, you can either eat at the hotel, pretty much anywhere you want, or take a walk to the Village Market. The Village Market has stores from almost every type of department, a grocery store, an amusement park (water park, mini golf, blowing alley, arcade, movie theatre), and quite a nice bar with live performances.

The Tribe also has a computer area with reasonably fast computers and access to the internet. You can also enjoy the internet from WiFi access anywhere on the hotel grounds. A large conference room is available.

After a busy day, you can lounge in the Tribe’s many recreational spaces (like the open terrace on the top floor) or join in on weekly social events hosted in the main lounge area. These events are also advertised on the Tribe’s facebook page.

During my stay, the Tribe was expanding, with construction on a larger business area , the pool, and a gym in full swing. I highly recommend staying at the Tribe!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

How can I add anything to what the others have said? The staff and service are superb, they will stop and say hello just because.. the owners and managers are incredibly down to earth and friendly; the rooms and amenities are excellent; the design and style inside and out are to die for... The hotel is an art gallery, an oasis, a businessperson's dream come true. Superlative in all ways!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

The hotel is a relatively new addition to 5 star hotels in Nairobi. It is located next to the village market and the UN and various embassies.

The hotel can be described as "boutique" as there are only 130 or so rooms and the decor is very modern and chic. The staff are very friendly and attentive.

The rooms are nicely furnished with flat screen TV, and free wi-fi. The connection speed is very good for Kenya.

Did not have any meals except for breakfast. Breakfast was very good, with fresh fruit, the usual egg station and various pastries.

You can walk to the Village Market, which is a pretty decently sized mall with a grocery store, food court, a movie theater and other up-scale shops.

It does take some time - around 45 minutes or more to get in and out of the city center. I tried to stay here while attending a meeting at the convention center, but gave up after a few days. Too much traffic.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.