We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst (And Most Expensive) Hotel I've Stayed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Worst (And Most Expensive) Hotel I've Stayed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I don't know where to start. I'm here right now, it is 11.13pm at night, and there is a loud party going on in the lobby with blaring techno right outside my door sponsored by the hotel itself (big speakers, DJ's, the whole thing). I've got meetings tomorrow in the AM, so I will be quite sleep deprived. In fact, every night has been noisy, I wake up to the sound of the kitchen and cafeteria every morning. Sound travels very well through these walls.

Other problems have included being unable to get meals without dairy (lactose intolerant), and as a result having to go without meals for a couple nights. They also don't do a good job communicating - a taxi waited for an hour to pick me up. I waited for an hour to get the taxi. The hotel reception talked to us both and never put two and two together.

I travel frequently, spending about 2/3rds of my year on business trips around the world. I've never been to a place as expensive and as inconsiderate as this. I genuinely despise this hotel. I look forward to never returning here.

There are lots of other good hotels in Nairobi. And Kenya is a wonderful place to visit. Just don't spend a lot of money for the perception of luxury. I only stayed here because it avoided a long taxi ride to where I worked for the week. At this point, and extra couple hours in traffic each day would have been preferable to this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get room 33. Lots of noise from the kitchen. You will not sleep if there is any kind of event...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    139
    47
    12
    12
See reviews for
39
85
47
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a first class facility that has glitz without being glitzy and is refreshingly quiet. The service was excellent, the food and included breakfast was top quality. Room was spacious and attractive..

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two nights in transit to our safari.
Good sized rooms, nice pool for the kids, room service was quick and good value; top class gym with excellent equipment.
It's right next to a shopping centre which is convenient and a place to roam about.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was my third stay in Tribe and it was a pleasure to return to Tribe. It may be a little pricey, but the convenience of the location (right next to the Village Market where there are a supermarket, grocery stores, food court, restaurants, boutique and souvenir shops), the quality and comfortableness of rooms, equipment, facilities, friendly staff and strong security cannot be beaten. I appreciate the efforts made by the owner, the management and the staff to maintain the high standard since it opened, which is not an easy thing to do in any place but especially in a developing country. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar. The ones with a bath tab are little larger and more comfortable. I hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a treat at tribe and although I was unwell, the ambiance, the staff and the food made quite happy for the brief time I managed quite a few smiles regardless of how I was feeling.

I found the staff quite resourceful and pleasant.

Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

have just come back from four nights in nairobi at this beautifully designed hotel . much thought has gone into all the special features such as the extra public rooms for watching t.v. or meetings and social functions . the swimming pool was serene and a well screened paradise spot . the rooms were good apart from towels need to be better for a five star hotel , and the problem of lack of privacy in the bathroom due to design fault . the food and drinks were great and not overpriced .
what really made our stay special was the staff , at reception , porters , security cleaners and waiters and waitresses . nothing was too much trouble and service with a smile . i am shocked about someone complaining about local events . this is one of the primary functions of a hotel , and oh yes , people pay a lot to hold these functions .
thank you for all at the tribe and we would be more than happy to stay here again !

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

Short version: Friendly staff, clean room, good food at the restaurant (breakfast & dinner), modern design.

Long version: Nice place. Went for business and was extremely pleased with the hotel, its services, and the staff. If I can say one thing I would like to have seen - more outdoor space besides the pool. Not a deal breaker, though. The food on the breakfast and dinner menus were ample and good tasting. I would recommend this hotel to business, family, or pleasure travelers.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.