We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a spring clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 106 Hotels in Nairobi
Temple, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Needs a spring clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

This hotel is a bit over fussy, it tries to be a bit trendy and designer but is too fiddly. The hotel could do with a good clean from top to bottom as it is looking a little sticky and a bit grubby. Having said that everything works ok and the staff are nice.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    133
    47
    12
    9
See reviews for
36
84
45
228
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger Municipality, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

It’s a very nice hotel with a relaxed atmosphere. It looks chic, it’s clean and it’s well maintained. We had problems with noise 1 night when the World Cup was on as our room was right next to the bar. Besides that it wasn’t a problem. The food in the hotel restaurant was excellent and the staff were super friendly. We wish we could have taken the chef and the staff back to Norway with us!

We stayed at the Tribe for four nights all together. First one night before we went on Safari in the Masai Mara. This was recommended to us by our guide as it was easy to get out of the city. Then we stayed another three nights after the Safari. It is located in the Ambassador district of Nairobi so it feels very safe. There is a shopping centre 2 min walk from the hotel with ok shops and nice places to eat.

If we ever go back to Nairobi we would definitely stay at the Tribe again!

Room Tip: Don't choose the room next to the bar on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Overall a very nice hotel but with a few flaws. Nice - clean room, nicely furnished, good TV stations and nice flat tv, lots of hot water and clean sheets/comfortable bed. Food at the restaurant was good and breakfast buffet was fine with hot and cold dishes, good variety. I liked the gym very much. Spa was nice and the treatment I had was well done.

Be aware the 'complementary minibar' has very few items and there is a charge to refill it. I walked to the very close Village Market mall next door and bought some things to stock. So the flaws - two days they didn't replace my shampoo, some nights I got chocolate with turndown and some nights not, they didn't replace a laundry bag after I put in my first order of laundry service. There was something wrong with my door lock and a couple days I came home to find it didn't lock and was totally unlocked after housekeeping had cleaned my room, maintenance did a quick fix and didn't seem concerned or make a definitive repair. Last thing, housekeeping needs to close windows or not even open them because when they leave them open after cleaning the mosquitoes come into your room and this will ruin a good nights sleep. So 4 out of 5.

Room Tip: My room was by the road, but after 11pm the sounds were much less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great design ideas in the common areas, very stylish and comfortable. Easy access to the local Village Market. Not sure how often it happens but there was a noisy pool party all evening and into the night on the Saturday night of my stay. Other than that it was peaceful and I will be booking the Tribe again for my next visit to Nairobi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My husband, who works in South Sudan, and I met up for a four-day reunion in Nairobi. We had lived there for 12 years in another lifetime, before the Tribe Hotel was even built. Tribe is located out of Nairobi's center, within the Village Market complex. Staff are excellent, service superb, and rooms quite good. Having said that, I still felt that there could be areas for improvement. Our room had a bathtub in the "open plan" without a door, and ironically there was such poor water pressure in our fourth floor room that even if we had wanted to fill up the tub, it would have taken an hour and the water would have been cold. Also, little things like the coffee grinds provided for our plunger coffee maker were of the wrong kind, and had to be used with a filter (which was not provided.) Breakfast was a nice affair, poolside, and everyone super attentive. I just felt that the Tribe did not live up to the highest standard, considering the cost of the room -- and we got the UN discount which was 250$ a night!

Room Tip: Since there was little view to speak of and it's generally quiet, I don't think it matters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was a great experience. It was convenient to shopping and very quite and secure. I especially enjoyed the pool and the interesting decor in common areas and the rooms.

100% the place to stay for the business traveler.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo Province, Zimbabwe
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Thank you to the Tribe Hotel for your warmth and hospitality in the most perfect of surroundings. Elegant, tasteful with exquisite attention to the tiniest detail!! We love your new champagne and chocolate bar!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.