We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Great modern hotel next to a nice market and loads of possibilities to eat and shop!
Very good spa and if you ask a Thai massage you get a Thai woman to do it! Excellent drivers and cars and even the Safaris they offer are amazing, had the luck to see 300+ elephants and other animals a few feet away! Brilliant !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    127
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
36
81
41
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The tribe is a very pleasant, modern and comfortable hotel. Although not cheap, it is worth the stay. very close to the village market and to the United Nations, for those who need to go and work there, it is definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The Tribe is a design hotel and so it does not have that impersonal,institutional vibe of large high end but chain hotels. It is modern and elegant and yet not too big so you feel at home right away. There is a niche for everyone, literally. The staff are extraordinarily friendly and eager to please. The food is good and the kitchen will go out of its way to accommodate your wishes; something that is good if you are a long term stay. I have stayed short term, long term, on business, and on personal travel. The Tribe is a place you keep coming back to and where everyone really does "know your name" and welcomes you back like part of the family. The place is not perfect and that is part of its charm too; it is almost perfect. Ideally it will grow and expand to the empty fields beyond and have a quiet area, a lap pool, a bigger gym, a menu that changes more often, faster service when you're in a hurry....but this would be good only if it retains its current service and charm and feeling of "home". Located next to the Village Market makes it a convenient little oasis in wonderful Nairobi. They also take security seriously. oh and regardless of your time there, don't miss out on the spa which has some real professional therapists..

Room Tip: Rooms in the building behind the pool not in the main building are quieter; higher level rooms overl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Pros:
-location: close to embassies and UN; you can walk.
-food: not so expensive, interesting choices.
-staff: friendly.

Cons:
-obnoxious disco music piped through the hotel all the time;
-oddly expensive drinks--a beer is $5
-rooms not set up to do any work--desk is small and poorly built.
-some rooms smell like the kitchen or the septic tank
-internet is not reliable enough to do work.

-what made up my mind was an incredibly obnoxious wedding apparently thrown by the owner's family (?)--tons of people running up and down, yelling, slamming doors, all night long. No regard for the guests of the hotel. Staff tried to do their best but it went on until 4-5 AM. Very amateur.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms don't face the parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

It was a comedy of errors from the moment we checked in to where we are here a few hours later.
It started at check in where the twin room requested was not ready (nor did the reception staff seem aware of it)! We were then hassled a lot about paying our room in advance (never did that before so didn't understand why they requested it) we went to the spa (again had booked treatments in advance but didn't receive confirmation). The treatments were terrible including a Brazilian that left my pal in tears. I returned to request our room key after an hour at the spa again to be hassled by reception. Ignored it and went upstairs. No bags. Apparently they had been sitting outside for an hour and noone thought to put them in our room. Several phone calls later the bags are in the room.
I then go and pay reception to get them off my case. On my return from the gym I tried to take a shower in the room but the door didn't close (it was broken - something they didn't check when they were "preparing" the room!)
We have been moved again (after pulling teeth with reception to sort it out)! All this when w are only staying a night! What a nightmare.

The only good thing was the gym trainer who knows his stuff and helped me with core exercises. Also peninah the supervisor who had the good grace to apologise and see if there was anything she could do. Lets see how the next 12hours go....can't wait to escape to the coast now. What a shame Tribe. You should be much better than this particularly given the cost and fancy decorations.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Can highly recommend Tribe hotel both for business and pleasure! Excellent service from a friendly staff, enjoyable roof terrace where you can enjoy a drink. Situated next to Village Market, a great shopping centre with restaurants and cinemas.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We usually stay at the Norfolk whilst in Nairobi and this was a first for us. The location was excellent in relation to the shopping centre. I was not impressed with our first room offered, down in the basement - coming out of the room was the glass gym! Then there was building work on show. It felt like I was down in the dungeon! The room upstairs was better. I am not a fan of trying to be trendy - when it doesnt quite work.
The shower ran into the loo area & when you are in the shower - you can see the person from the room (just dont have guests over!)
Breakfast - this was average - nothing special. When we reported to breakfast - we were told "have a nice breakfast" It was up to us to find a vacant table! this is not 5 star service.
Overall it was a nice stay - would i go back? No, I think the staff know about service and how to look after guests at The Norfolk - so that's where my custom will go.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Venere, Tingo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.