We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star stay in excellent location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5 Star stay in excellent location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Can highly recommend Tribe hotel both for business and pleasure! Excellent service from a friendly staff, enjoyable roof terrace where you can enjoy a drink. Situated next to Village Market, a great shopping centre with restaurants and cinemas.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    120
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
77
40
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We usually stay at the Norfolk whilst in Nairobi and this was a first for us. The location was excellent in relation to the shopping centre. I was not impressed with our first room offered, down in the basement - coming out of the room was the glass gym! Then there was building work on show. It felt like I was down in the dungeon! The room upstairs was better. I am not a fan of trying to be trendy - when it doesnt quite work.
The shower ran into the loo area & when you are in the shower - you can see the person from the room (just dont have guests over!)
Breakfast - this was average - nothing special. When we reported to breakfast - we were told "have a nice breakfast" It was up to us to find a vacant table! this is not 5 star service.
Overall it was a nice stay - would i go back? No, I think the staff know about service and how to look after guests at The Norfolk - so that's where my custom will go.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here for a period of 3 months and then another 2 months in 2013 and 2014. The staff here are great - very helpful and kind. The internet in some of the rooms is spotty, and the hotel needs to invest in new pepper shakers, but besides that, there's really very little to complain about!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

gets tedious as place to live. Initial impression is one of awe, incredible sculpture throughout, spacious interior, personable staff and great ambiance. After a week or two, which is the norm for the visiting dignitary or evacuated aid worker, the decor goes to overwhelming. Pluses: food, staff, sculpture, shisha on the roof. Negatives: techno music 24/7, awkward room layout, impractical furniture and furnishings, distance from so much else in Nairobi.

Room Tip: facing the pool side, other side has harsh lighting and noise from Village Market parking lot .
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is my second visit to the Tribe wasn’t as great as the first and even though it wasn’t horrible I could see cracks of falling standards. The Tribe really needs to do something about the noise issue on the weekends – yes, they send each guest a notification the day before but it gets so noisy and very difficult to sleep which is not fair to their hotel guests. My room at the end of the hallway must have shared the same air vent with the kitchen or something and I could smell everything thing from the coffee and bacon in the morning to the garlic from the evening dinner. My room always reeked of food all the time.
The service offered is no longer consistent. When I arrived, my bar was not filled and it took 4 phone calls and over 24 hours for it to be filled. One of my colleagues arrived at in her room after a long day to find her bed stripped and without any bed sheets or cover – the cleaning crew forgot to lay the bed after it was stripped. To be fair to them, I must say they are usually very apologetic when a complaint is lodged and it is still a convenient place right across from the village market but they really need to improve their standards.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the pool unless you don't mind the noise from weekend parties and people talk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel is in a NW suburb of Nairobi. It is very close to the US Embassy and UN compounds. It is not close or convenient to anything in downtown Nairobi, but it is one of the few safe hotels for Westerners to hang out and walk around. It is next to the Village Market which has a large number of restaurants featuring a wide variety of foods. The hotel is very nice and caters to an upscale customer. The breakfast is excellent. I would definitely recommend it for business travelers that want to stay safe and be comfortable while in Nairobi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Tribe provides friendly service, and excellent restaurant. Don't pass up breakfast. Can't imagine you getting such a substantial meal for the start of your day at another place.
Village Market is a three minute walk away. Good for alternate eating options. Hotel taxi is crazy expensive. Suggest local cabs. Tribe will call for you.
Very convenient location is working nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.