We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure to stay at tribe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 103 Hotels in Nairobi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Always a pleasure to stay at tribe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have stayed at tribe multiple times. Amazing hotel with great decor. Service levels are world class, people greet you by your first name, the service is amicable. starting from the Gym instructor to the people at the reception remember you by your first name. It is always a pleasure to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    127
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
36
81
41
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

I LOVE hotels where the staff knows my name and greets me by name each day. My first visit to Kenya on business, but had several days off. Kudos to the excellent desk, concierge, dining, leisure travel, and hotel services staff. The rooms are extremely comfortable and easy access to pool, business, bar and dining areas. Although a little distance from town center, transportation is easy and affordable and the security is unmatched. I'm usually a Marriott traveler, but this is a modern, beautifully decorated and professionally staffed higher end hotel. Well worth the higher daily rate. Special recognition to the dining staff. I posted photos of some of the incredible edible creations. Breakfast made to order each day and a Sunday brunch to rival the best 5 star international location. I cannot wait until my next visit to Nairobi.

Room Tip: I had a lower floor room facing the pool. If you want privacy, ask for lower corner rooms. Less gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We enjoyed our night at tribe. Fantastic hotel with amazing decor. The staff are friendly and very helpful. One complaint tho. We took room 505 which promised a patio because we had 2 small kids with us. Turns out you can barely make it out of the room because of the huge plant right infront of the patio door. When you do finally get out,first thing that hits you is the sewage stench coming from the swampy area below. Very dissapointing. Overall, our stay was pleasant and we will be back.

Room Tip: I would avoid the rooms on the lower level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have been many times at the Tribe Hotel before my relocation to Kenya, and I personally find it the best Hotel accomodation in Nairobi, especially for families and tourists. It is located in a very nice area of Nairobi (near the UN HQ), a bit far away from the crowded city center but not that far from Westland, the main business district.
Hotel facilities are great, the restaurant is very good and you have near by the Hotel a very nice shopping area.
Price is in line with that of the top Hotels in Nairobi (Sankhara and Kempisky).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. It is modern, has incredible design elements, and the staff, from the front doormen to the front desk and restaurant staff are helpful and cheerful. It is in a great location, safe, and everything about the rooms makes you feel like you are staying in a high-end hotel - which you are. The pool is nice, and the lobby and outside balconies are great places to kick back and relax in. One item for those traveling with children. The hotel is accomodating for kids - but it could do a better job offering a kids menu in room service and the restauarants. For breakfast - the food is great for adults - but the need to special order pancakes for a kid - which took 15-20 minutes each time - can be frustrating for the little ones.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Awesome Experience with a wonderful environment to spend some quality time. I loved the food and the facilities are good. I think it was worth the price and the service was wonderful. The Architectural structure and design of the hotel makes it stand out and i would go back there to experience it all over again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the Tribe Hotel for a period of close to three months. What an amazing experience it was! The staff and management team made me feel like I was home. The service was impeccable and the food was exquisite. Even though I was there during the senseless attack on the Westgate Mall, I never worried about my safety. The security at the hotel is top notch. The ambiance is convivial and there is always something going on--whether it is a get together party for hotel residents organized by the management team or an occasion to celebrate something else.

The General Manager is an awesome person. He is very approachable and will listen carefully to what you have to say. His deputy is no different. He always walks around with a smile plastered on his face. Both will go to bat to resolve any issues you may have. The kindness and professionalism of the staff is of high caliber. The hotel is very clean, both in the rooms and around the hotel. The hotel amenities--pool, rooftop bar, gym, and restaurant-- are designed to offer you a great time.

A gem in the heart of Nairobi, that’s how I describe the Tribe Hotel. I highly recommend it for anyone who is looking for comfort, security, relaxation, and good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Otel, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;