We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Choice in Nairobi, no doubts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Choice in Nairobi, no doubts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have been many times at the Tribe Hotel before my relocation to Kenya, and I personally find it the best Hotel accomodation in Nairobi, especially for families and tourists. It is located in a very nice area of Nairobi (near the UN HQ), a bit far away from the crowded city center but not that far from Westland, the main business district.
Hotel facilities are great, the restaurant is very good and you have near by the Hotel a very nice shopping area.
Price is in line with that of the top Hotels in Nairobi (Sankhara and Kempisky).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    127
    47
    11
    9
See reviews for
36
82
42
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel. It is modern, has incredible design elements, and the staff, from the front doormen to the front desk and restaurant staff are helpful and cheerful. It is in a great location, safe, and everything about the rooms makes you feel like you are staying in a high-end hotel - which you are. The pool is nice, and the lobby and outside balconies are great places to kick back and relax in. One item for those traveling with children. The hotel is accomodating for kids - but it could do a better job offering a kids menu in room service and the restauarants. For breakfast - the food is great for adults - but the need to special order pancakes for a kid - which took 15-20 minutes each time - can be frustrating for the little ones.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Awesome Experience with a wonderful environment to spend some quality time. I loved the food and the facilities are good. I think it was worth the price and the service was wonderful. The Architectural structure and design of the hotel makes it stand out and i would go back there to experience it all over again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I recently stayed at the Tribe Hotel for a period of close to three months. What an amazing experience it was! The staff and management team made me feel like I was home. The service was impeccable and the food was exquisite. Even though I was there during the senseless attack on the Westgate Mall, I never worried about my safety. The security at the hotel is top notch. The ambiance is convivial and there is always something going on--whether it is a get together party for hotel residents organized by the management team or an occasion to celebrate something else.

The General Manager is an awesome person. He is very approachable and will listen carefully to what you have to say. His deputy is no different. He always walks around with a smile plastered on his face. Both will go to bat to resolve any issues you may have. The kindness and professionalism of the staff is of high caliber. The hotel is very clean, both in the rooms and around the hotel. The hotel amenities--pool, rooftop bar, gym, and restaurant-- are designed to offer you a great time.

A gem in the heart of Nairobi, that’s how I describe the Tribe Hotel. I highly recommend it for anyone who is looking for comfort, security, relaxation, and good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilongwe, Malawi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at Tribe for work several times, but this was my first time on holiday. I was unsure about the expense, but Nina and the staff there made it an incredible experience. Our plans changed midstream and they let us check back in to the hotel 1 hour after we had checked out. Same room, same bill. After coming back in from a week of camping, at check in they could not find our reservation (not sure whose fault) they upgraded us to an executive suite, which was extremely nice.

It's expensive, but still great value for money. Thank you Tribe!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
former NYr
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The architecture and design of this property make it a destination location. A must-see for sure. The front counter staff was stellar. The rooms and interior, as well as the pool, waterfalls, and pond in front are state-of-the art, yet still speak Africa.

The only issue I had was at the bar. Many (at least three parties or 8+ people) arrived late to the bar because that's when flights get in. This was a Friday night. The bartender called last round at 11P or 12M. We sadly had to accept the reality - but - then we were all told that there was anther bar at the back of the restaurant located on the lower floor. No such bar exists. :(

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

An amazing place to stay! The rooms are stylish and very cosy! The environment around the hotel is beautiful and relaxing! However, what really makes the difference is the staff! From the check in and during the whole stay, everybody is trying to meet and exceed your expectations! Always with a smile and all their attention!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.