We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived at tribe about 9am after travelling all night and were allowed to access our room immediately which was wonderful! The style and layout of the hotel was stunning with interesting art and sculptures adding to the environment. We spent the afternoon sitting outside enjoying the buffet lunch and the band which was playing. It was very good value for money, particularly given the beautiful surroundings. All in all, we could not fault Tribe and wished we had been staying longer than one night!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    127
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
36
81
41
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed here for a week due to work. Hotel is very modern with good amenities. I did not get t partake in breakfast, however the food for dinner and or pub grub is good. Room was a nice size as well as the bathroom. On occassion the power did go out however this is to be expected as it is Africa, TV choices OK for Africa it was good, I did not use the movies. Staff was very attentive and helpful. Overall Good Hotel. One downside is that if there is a party at the pool area you will hear it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I have stayed at the Tribe many many times in the past and frequently recommend this hotel to friends. However the last time I stayed at the tribe which was 18 Sept 2013, it was extremely disappointing. I arrived at the hotel after being in the traffic for about two hours, reception handed me the room key but when I got to the room the bed was not yet made up. Housekeeping were informed and took an hour to rectify. The television was not working, this tool maintenance 2 hours to get there and fix. In the morning, at breakfast, I ordered two fried eggs, which I waited about 40 minutes, when I enquired the "chef" had forgotten, I was late so could not waite any longer, so I left, and proceeded to check out of the tribe and move to another hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear ElleVee288,

Thank you for your review dated October 31, 2013. I would like to take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for your experience at Tribe. As you may be aware from your previous stays with us, at Tribe we strive to maintain a high level of service in all our offerings. Unfortunately we fell short of our own as well as your expectations.

I have addressed the issues with the relevant departments and i assure you that the required action will be taken to rectify the issues. I hope that you are able to give us another chance as we would be delighted to host you again.

Please contact me directly at marketing@tribehotel-kenya.com the next time you plan on coming to Nairobi.

Kind Regards,

Alina Haq
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ry, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Visited the Tribe hotel during a business trip with a group of colleagues. We spent 4 days having a workshop, and both the facilities, the rooms as well as the restaurant was very good. All in all a splendid hotel for business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I would suggest this hotel to anybody traveling to Nairobi. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is always helpful and friendly. The security is top notch. The pool is nice, but I never had to the chance to swim. The fitness center has some very interesting equipment, and is very nice for a hotel gym, It's not Lifetime fitness, but it is a hotel.

The access to the marketplace next store is one of its best attributes. It is not close to downtown, but the market has all you need (try the italian restaurant).

Overall, I would suggest this to anybody who travels here!

Room Tip: Do not get room 405, it is nice, but right across the hall from the upstairs bar! It gets loud on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Tribe is I believe one of just a handful of Design Hotels in Africa. It's attention to decor and design definitely shows. The pool is gorgeously laid out between slabs of free standing stone. Each room is well decorated with an overall African, tribal theme. The food is quite good, and I've heard the spa treatments are excellent. Location is fantastic, with lots of available shopping right next door at Village Market. The daily chocolate turn down service is a really nice touch.The Tribe is a favorite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar es salaam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

i was for 2 days holiday to nairobi and i was at tribe hotel, Though the price is quite high but i had a pleasnt stay at Tribe.i was amazed to see all staff so polite always smiling be it early morning or late night, breakfast was excellent room service was above standard and efficient. Ill recommend tribe hotel to everyone , i felt i should extend my stay so welcoming and a pleasant place to be.

Security guards were full time active on their duty Mr John (security guard) ull definetly see me soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Venere, Tingo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.