We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Ry, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Visited the Tribe hotel during a business trip with a group of colleagues. We spent 4 days having a workshop, and both the facilities, the rooms as well as the restaurant was very good. All in all a splendid hotel for business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    227
    120
    44
    11
    9
See reviews for
34
77
40
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I would suggest this hotel to anybody traveling to Nairobi. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is always helpful and friendly. The security is top notch. The pool is nice, but I never had to the chance to swim. The fitness center has some very interesting equipment, and is very nice for a hotel gym, It's not Lifetime fitness, but it is a hotel.

The access to the marketplace next store is one of its best attributes. It is not close to downtown, but the market has all you need (try the italian restaurant).

Overall, I would suggest this to anybody who travels here!

Room Tip: Do not get room 405, it is nice, but right across the hall from the upstairs bar! It gets loud on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Tribe is I believe one of just a handful of Design Hotels in Africa. It's attention to decor and design definitely shows. The pool is gorgeously laid out between slabs of free standing stone. Each room is well decorated with an overall African, tribal theme. The food is quite good, and I've heard the spa treatments are excellent. Location is fantastic, with lots of available shopping right next door at Village Market. The daily chocolate turn down service is a really nice touch.The Tribe is a favorite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dar es salaam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

i was for 2 days holiday to nairobi and i was at tribe hotel, Though the price is quite high but i had a pleasnt stay at Tribe.i was amazed to see all staff so polite always smiling be it early morning or late night, breakfast was excellent room service was above standard and efficient. Ill recommend tribe hotel to everyone , i felt i should extend my stay so welcoming and a pleasant place to be.

Security guards were full time active on their duty Mr John (security guard) ull definetly see me soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We arrived in Nairobi the weekend of the terrorist attack. we had no problem on arrival and were picked up at the airport by a Tribe Hotel SUV. Security was high at both the entrance to the hotel and the adjacent Village Market Shopping Centre.

The Tribe is fairly new and very modern in design located in the United Nations area of the city. Reception, bar and restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. Food was good both at the hotel and the various restaurants in the Shopping Centre. I was on business most of the week but my wife was able to book various city excursions through the hotel. She visited the Elephant orphanage, the Giraffe Centre and the Museum of Anthropology and enjoyed them all.

We went on safari the second week which included a day room at the Tribe at the end of the safari prior to catching a late evening flight to London. We would highly recommend the Tribe to anyone visiting Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed here our last night in Kenya and was the perfect choice. Wished we could stay longer just to stay here! Service was very good and lots of attention to security to ensure guests felt comfortable. The hotel itself is like a piece of art, such attention to detail everywhere. Was stunning. Rooms are beautiful and the most comfortable beds, slept great! Linens and room amentities are very good. There was even a coffee press in room. Breakfast is included and is a large buffet in Jiko Restaurant. Best almond croissant among all the other delicious offerings. Lovely gift shop and spa. Really do nt know what could be improved upon. Staff was all excellent! Hotel is located beside Village Market so easy to pop over if you need anything and are a couple of great coffee shops, a cafe and bakery among shops.

Room Tip: Based on quality and detail expect all rooms are excellent. In the city so not aware is there are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Apart from the rooms being comfortable, lot of other problems we faced. Receptionist was too rude and despite our booking confirmation voucher, they wouldn't agree with us on pricing saying the price was higher.
The pool was too cold, and the hot pool was too hot, no one uses the pool so it is not well looked after.
The service from rest of the staff was good, but hotel is over rates for its service and hospitality

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.