We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All around excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My wife, daughter and I recently stayed there, 2 nights, (then a safari), and back for another night. We arrived 4 days after the mall attack. Our room wasn't ready, so they gave us a free upgrade. The decor is modern. It has an excellent pool, roof deck bar, the fitness room is excellent, and even the conference facilities looked good. The restaurant was fabulous! We ate most of our meals there. I even got a haircut there by Steve, a top notch stylist. I would definitely stay there again, as all aspects were a cut above. With only one exception. My wife and daughter went to a market, and were told they would be driven there in one of the hotel's land cruisers, which they were. They were told it was free for one hour. Due to the typical Nairobi traffic, they were 10 minutes late. The bell captain charged my wife $50 for the ride. I would suggest walking up to the Village Market and getting a cab which are much cheaper (half the price or more to the airport) than the hotel's transportation. Other than that, it was an excellent experience with friendly service and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    138
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
37
85
47
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My first visit to the hotel was to meet up with a friend. I was already staying at another hotel down town (wouldn't mention which one). The hotel seemed to be new and the decor was stunning. I came back later on and booked a room. I was very satisfied with the room. I stayed with my wife. Our first night together after getting married. We were both amazed. The bed was very comfortable. The room was very very neat. Decor was also on point. The service I received was very very pleasant. I definitely, without any reservations, recommend this hotel to everyone. Worth all the money I spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

i recently stayed at the Tribe for a 4th time in Nairobi; I was involved in the recent events and was caught in the mall for over 6 hours, after I got out. when i went to the center that was setup for helping victims get back home and decompress. I was met by the owner of the TRIBE; he personally came out to get us and insure our safe passage back to the hotel. Later that night the GM took us for anything we wanted for food and drinks on the Tribe; they also had a trey of gourmet candy and drinks at my bed room table. I cannot say enough about the Tribe hotel and its customer service and taking care of there guests. They are truly 1st class hotel and to have the owner of the hotel come and get us after the event at the mall and insure we got back to the hotel was incredible; there is only one hotel to stay at Nairobi its the Tribe outstanding customer service.

Room Tip: it;s all good , they treat you like family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in September 2013, found staff very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel to anyone that has a need for business stay in Nairobi. The hotel restaurant had an great breakfast and the internet connection was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights last week.

The hotel interior design has this nice touches and comfy fusion of ethnic and modern designs and decorations.

We were booked on a standard room but decide to try the Ambassador suite for the next days. Standard room room is decent and has a comfortablrle bed though a bit small and feels cramp

The next day when we were supposed to shift, they were only able to prepare the room for us to shift at 6pm. 4 hours after were supposed to checked-in. The lack of urgency particularly the front desk was a let down. I have to call more than 4 times to check and they don't even try to atleast update you on the status.

Their only Ambassador suite or perhaps the only available, as per Front Desk, was on the second floor and smelled weird. We were not comfortable with it and requested for us to find another room. We found out from the staff that the room is facing the sewerage outside. Nice! : ( They shifted us to a Junior suite though better, aircon wasn't working properly and has to be fixed the next day.

Epic restaurant in the hotel is a redeeming part of the hotel, menu selections are fantastic and the staff are attentive and friendly.

We wanted to extend for another day but, decided to just go home.

Yes, the place is near Village market and Epic Restaurant is great but, if that's the only good factors for staying in- it's not worth it for me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a modern and comfortable hotel located in the diplomatic section of Nairobi.
All the amenities are provided in a lovely atmosphere. The rooftop bar is lovely. We found the food good, but the service lacking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Tribe Hotel is nothing less than pure eye candy! Gorgeous African relics and artwork abound throughout this beautiful hotel. The staff is pleasant, the food is good and the beds are very comfortable. The bar has a happening scene and I would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.