We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in September 2013, found staff very friendly and helpful. I would recommend the hotel to anyone that has a need for business stay in Nairobi. The hotel restaurant had an great breakfast and the internet connection was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    163
    49
    13
    13
See reviews for
45
98
50
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights last week.

The hotel interior design has this nice touches and comfy fusion of ethnic and modern designs and decorations.

We were booked on a standard room but decide to try the Ambassador suite for the next days. Standard room room is decent and has a comfortablrle bed though a bit small and feels cramp

The next day when we were supposed to shift, they were only able to prepare the room for us to shift at 6pm. 4 hours after were supposed to checked-in. The lack of urgency particularly the front desk was a let down. I have to call more than 4 times to check and they don't even try to atleast update you on the status.

Their only Ambassador suite or perhaps the only available, as per Front Desk, was on the second floor and smelled weird. We were not comfortable with it and requested for us to find another room. We found out from the staff that the room is facing the sewerage outside. Nice! : ( They shifted us to a Junior suite though better, aircon wasn't working properly and has to be fixed the next day.

Epic restaurant in the hotel is a redeeming part of the hotel, menu selections are fantastic and the staff are attentive and friendly.

We wanted to extend for another day but, decided to just go home.

Yes, the place is near Village market and Epic Restaurant is great but, if that's the only good factors for staying in- it's not worth it for me.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
129 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a modern and comfortable hotel located in the diplomatic section of Nairobi.
All the amenities are provided in a lovely atmosphere. The rooftop bar is lovely. We found the food good, but the service lacking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Tribe Hotel is nothing less than pure eye candy! Gorgeous African relics and artwork abound throughout this beautiful hotel. The staff is pleasant, the food is good and the beds are very comfortable. The bar has a happening scene and I would not hesitate to book here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
110 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I went to a Saturday "Sundowner" Pool party here back in July, and it was a great crowd, and a funky place with excellent music.

Did not stay here, so cannot comment about the rooms, but the overall feel and service at the hotel was good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Cayo, Ecuador
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What can I say - thanks to all of the staff. The rooms are great, spa treatment was professional, and breakfast has a great selection. The Wifi in the rooms is weak. Also the laundry service is expensive compared to the rest of the services available. The location is convenient to a mall where one can shop for just about anything. If you are there on a Friday - go to the artesian market. It is fun to see. I would recommend not buying out there as the same items are available in the shops in the mall and for a fair and reasonable price.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the front entry. People leave for safaris really early in the morning. They a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recommended by our friends. Check In was very very slow. It took us almost 45 minutes to do so. They could not find our reservation which had been reconfirmed by our friends an hour before. The person at the counter was very slow. Then some mix up with our needing a non smoking room and they did not have one free so said they would try and get one so a further delay.
We finally did make it to our rooms and were pleasantly surprised at the size. It was very small with no view. Anyways then we had a plumbing issue with the whole sink leaking into our room. They did manage to sort it out.
Anyways interiors of the hotel are very nice and modern. The light switches were a little confusing .
The village shopping market is just a two minute walk away in the same enclosure. So lots of options for shopping and restaurants. We did try the art caffe which was excellent.
Breakfast is the only meal we had in the hotel which was quite good. But we would have enjoyed some more vegetarian options. Service was not as friendly as we had oped for since Africa is known for their service.
There is nice small pool outside but it is not heated and since it was cold when went could not use it.
Wifi is available and not very good connectivity and expensive.
The concierge were quite helpful.
Overall a nice stay. Would stay again as a couple but not with children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TribeHotel, Manager at Tribe Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Darshikaajomal,

Thank you for your review dated September 8, 2013.
I would like to apologize for your check in experience, we strive to maintain a 5 minute check in policy for all our guests and it is disappointing that you did not receive this. I have taken up the matter with our front office team.

Thank you for your compliments regarding the interiors of our hotel, the proximity to the village market and our breakfast buffet. I will share your feedback with our chef regarding a larger variety of vegeterian options.

I am pleased to inform you that our swimming pool is now heated, I hope you can enjoy this on your next visit to Nairobi.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Tribe soon.

Kind Regards,
Alina Haq
Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
7.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
2.5 mi away
Sankara Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi
#14 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
4.2 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
3.0 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#11 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.