We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel twice this year and will recommend to anyone looking for a quiet, upmarket hotel far from the city center. The interior design is superb, service fantastic and the hotel is at walking distance to the Village Market shopping center. Love it

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    108
    41
    11
    9
See reviews for
33
76
39
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oakland, california
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful place. Weak WiFi and the power has been flickering about 6 times per day. Whole hotel goes down then up again. Wouldn't brave the elevators with that risk. Also if someone is disabled its hard to get around with all the stairs. Lots and lots and lots of stairs.

Awesome place for lounging and meeting with friends for drinks. Gorgeous pool. Nice gym. Great decor.

Customer service, staff is slightly incompetent but nothing I haven't experienced throughout my travels. It takes some patience. Like not having my order taken for 30 min. and giving up in the lounge, or the breakfast people taking my omelet order then I watch as they serve it to someone else. I gave up on that too and had cereal instead of insisting. Too much effort on my part to deal with it.

Also - TV reception is shoddy, there is no channel guide and the TV itself is mounted on the wall crooked. What the hell?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed there almost two weeks and it was wonderful. Close to the Village Market and all the restaurants and stores. The staff was very helpful and nice. The rooms were big and spacious. The only bad thing was the wi-fi which was very weak. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a 24 hour stopover in Nairobi and this was a welcome break. Our room was not what one would call oversized, but most functional nonetheless. We had both dinner and breakfast in the hotel and while not haute cuisine, it was certainly edible.

Only downside is the location so far from Jomo Kenyatta airport. Until the Kenyans sort out their road construction issues this will always be a problem if one is on any form of tight time schedule.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Having had some very negative experiences in Nairobi hotels over the years, I was not expecting much at this hotel. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find such a posh and cutting edge hotel as the Tribe. Granted, the price is not cheap but this is the price you generally pay for quality in an African hotel. Very modern and tasteful furnishings and details. Beds are super comfortable and the rooms are well appointed. Thoughtful touches such as Bodum french press coffee maker and bath salts for the free standing tub (which is almost in the center of the room) as well as free bottled water throughout my weeklong stay. Wifi was very so-so, so I had to ask the IT staff to bring me an external router (which didn't resolve the problem). The temperature of the shower water fluctuated constantly but I didn't bother complaining. Attentive reception staff. I agree that the breakfast buffet was not exceptional but it was more than adequate. The best part of the stay was an invitation from the manager to attend Thursday evening happy hour at the Nest outdoor bar on the top floor. Excellent free grilled meat, drinks, and quite an animated crowd. The proximity to the Village Market shopping centre is very convenient, although the hotel is far away from town centre and airport (but then again there is no good place to stay considering Nairobi's infamous traffic jams). By the way, if you are interested in the spa, you should book in advance of your trip, because I was unable to get an appointment at all during the week.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have visited this hotel at least 7 times. Decor & ambiance is good. Rooms & bathrooms are rather small. The food is overpriced and not value for money. The food, especially pastry & breads on buffet are unremarkable as another reviewer has written. Food on Sunday buffet seems & taste like leftovers from the week, especially desserts. All pastry & bread needs improvement. Reception staff not friendly, rather arrogant incl security at entrance. Service is below par. We had a Tango night & it started raining. Mngt & staff made no effort to mop up the wet dancing floor and to move us in to a drier area. On another day, I went to meet a friend staying in the hotel. We met in the off lobby bar and the 2 staff there said they had closed at 10pm, so no service. My pal insisted on a drink but they were adamant. Finally, we had to order from room service. I suggest they focus training on customer service & review prices downward. Having high prices only does not make one the best, great service & value does...!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Tribe is a top notch oasis in a nice part of Nairobi.

We only stayed there one night and then had a room for a day before our 11 pm flight home with a nine day stay out in the Masaai Mara in between.

We had a room on the first floor and it was very quiet at night. Comfortable beds and fairly spacious room. Bottled water supplied, everything worked fine. Wifi strong.

We had dinner twice at the hotel restaurant and also the buffet breakfast and service and food were both excellent. Prices very fair.

Check-in desk friendly and efficient. Highly recommend this hotel for people passing through Nairobi or for longer stays.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel
Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.