We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with some drawbacks.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tribe Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tribe Hotel to your Saves list
Tribe Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya (Highridge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Bamako
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with some drawbacks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff. The food from the restaurant was great.

My room, 401 was beautiful but noisy. There is also a constant smell from the kitchen. The room is close from the beautiful outdoor bar on the 4th floor however, you get all the noise from the bar until 10 11 pm every night. To note also that the bathroom flush did not work properly.

I had a hot stone massage at the spa, Wendy was excellent, it was a real treat, not to be missed!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    138
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
36
85
47
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MONROE TOWNSHIP NJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Warm , friendly staff at the counter and housekeeping .Room was clean, furnished nicely,bathroojm smelled, from the pipes? Glass doors to the bathroom did not close properly and who needs or wants a glass door when using the bathroom? The mall next door made it convienient for shopping and meeting friends for a chat and a bite.
Breakfast at the Tribe was good, lunch and dinnner not, have those meals at the Village next door, more variety and some pleasant and colorful atomspere.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I can't say enough great things about the Tribe staff. They are friendly and attentive without being over bearing. For a hotel in the Top 100 worldwide, I'd expect that they'd have the finish touches on their rooms. For example, in my room (137) there was a gap in the tile in the bathroom, the flushing mechanism on the toilet was mal-functioning and the closet had to be closed in a specific order for the light to go out. The drinks at the bar were pricey (as was the food down in the restaurant) but both were excellent.

If I had 1 recommendation to management it would be to allow the staff acting as guides to wear more appropriate clothing. Dress shoes and all black to go hiking just isn't kosher in my book.

The Tribe does arrange day trips, but I'd recommend going over to the attached mall to their travel agencies before committing to Tribe as there are more choices and options.

The 60 minute massage was definitely worth the price!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel is conviniently located close to the Market mall, US Embassy and the UN HQ in Africa. Friendly staff, nicely decorated and secure. My only observation is that those rooms that have an open space in the bathroom have a pipe smell :(

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have stayed in Tribe Hotel Nairobi from 26 - 29 Jun 2013 and this my review:
1. Hotel design & Interior is noticeably amazing and with good composition.
2. Reception - Needs more training dealing with both the guest and the bell man located two meters from the reception desk.
3. Hotel Main Restaurant - aside from their break fast which is fantastic, the lunch and dinner menu is just bad with exception of their Lobster Roll which really good and cooked perfectly. But this is not good enough as I had to walk to the Village Market (http://villagemarket-kenya.com/), thank GOD it was next door to find good food to eat.

My recommendation next time I will try another Hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

First trip to Kenya and this was my first stop. Great property friendly staff. Much nicer than I expected and enjoyed the shopping right next door. It is a modern looking property, free WiFi so it was easy to stay connected with family back home.

On the down side service in the restaurant was slow and the bathroom offers no privacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had lunch with my husband and was rather dissapointed by the service. Wanted a crispy pork starter & was told its not available as customers were complaining its not good. Ordered for claramari & it was just okey. The food took long and we had to keep calling the waitress to be attended to. Very dissappinting experience. The hotel itself is cool & the ambience spectacular. I hope U have more luck with the resturant than we did!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tribe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tribe Hotel

Address: Limuru Road | The Village Market, Gigiri, Nairobi 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Highridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tribe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tribe promises to be an escape from the mundane hotel room and brings you into a world of hip, chic design with an emphasis on detail and luxury. Tribe is a celebration of the beauty in diversity while acknowledging our common quest for excellence and belonging. The hotel's many suites extend this level of luxury and are unrivalled in their sense of elegance and class. Every room is a testament of world class comfort and functionality while offering a cultural journey through hand-picked arts, crafts and furnishings from the farthest corners of Africa. This experience is accentuated only by the hotel's public spaces with design elements at every glance. Epic, the in-house restaurant serves Continental cuisine with an exquisite African Fusion. It is open daily for lunch and dinner from 06h30 to 23h00. The Lounge is open from 06h30 to 12h00 and the Nest is open from 17h00 to 23h00 daily. Tribe is adjacent to the The Village Market Shopping complex. It has an onsite gym in the Village Market as well as cinema, ten pin bowling alley, mini golf and great children facilities.Tribe -"New York Chic, African Essence”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tribe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tribe The Village Market Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tribe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.